University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

February 25, 2008


Committee on Committees

CC.08.07     Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members (plus two Big Ten faculty representatives) and two student members who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate.  (The Chancellor also appoints one student from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board.)  Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year.  The term of faculty member Thomas Weissinger and student members Ben Blaiszik and Jeffrey Brown expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2008.  Continuing members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

                  Faculty:    C. L. Cole                               COMM           2011
                                    Cleo D’Arcy                            ACES            2011
                                    Larry DeBrock                       BUS              2009
                                    John Erdman                         ACES            2010
                                    Ann Nardulli                           LAS               2009
                                    Christopher Span                EDUC            2010

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees.  (Submitted interest statements for nominees are here.)


To fill one faculty position for term expiring in 2012:

                                    Debra Hawhee                        LAS
                                    E. Kevin Renshler                   AHS

To fill two student positions for terms expiring in 2009:

                                    Tyler Deitz                              BUS
                                    Jim Hanauer                           BUS
                                    Mallory Martin                         AHS
                                    Justin Umlah                          LAW

Committee on Committees
Kim Graber, Chair
Rebecca Bryant
Roy Campbell
Al Kagan
Dana Rabin
Justin Randall
Rachel Schwartz
Jason Webber

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected.  The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled.  If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.