University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

February 25, 2008


University Statutes and Senate Procedures
(Final; Action)

SP.08.08          Revision to the Bylaws, Part D.14 – Committee on the Library

The Sixth Senate Review Commission Final Report recommended “…that during the 2007-08 year, all Senate committees conduct a review of their charge, their operations, their staffing, and their titles, to determine if revisions to any of these might be appropriate.”

The Committee on the Library has completed this review and recommends the following changes.  The Committee on the Library noted that graduate students are important users of the Library and should have representation on the committee.  They believe the changes more completely represent their charge.

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures and the Senate Committee on the Library recommend approval of the following revisions to the Bylaws.  Text to be deleted is indicated in [square brackets] and text to be added is underscored.


14.  Committee on the Library

(a) Duties

The Committee shall advise the director of the [C]campus Library on the apportionment of the Library budget and on the formulation and execution of policies governing the operation of the Library, including its branches.  The Committee shall advise the Chancellor on the appointment and evaluation of the director of the [C]campus Library.  The Committee shall advise the Senate about issues affecting the ability of the Library to fulfill its mission.

(b) Membership

The Committee shall consist of:

    1. Nine faculty members, at least three of whom are senators when elected to the committee, with no more than two members from any one college, school, institute, or similar unit.  Election shall be for staggered three-year terms.
    2. [Two] Four students, two undergraduate and two graduate.
    3. The director of the [C]campus Library or the director’s designee (ex offico).

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
William Maher, Chair
Bettina Francis
H. George Friedman
Peter Loeb
Vera Mainz
Carlos Ramirez-Rosa
Ann Reisner
David Rockwood
Elyne Cole, ex officio (designee)
Robert C. Damrau, ex officio
Larry Mann, Observer