Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

October 24, 2005


Senate Executive Committee

SC.06.04 Approval of Campus Budget Oversight Committee (CBOC) Nomination Slate

In accord with provisions approved by the Senate on March 30, 1998, the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) recommends the following slate of nominations for Senate approval. The source of each nomination is in parentheses. (CC—Committee on Committees). Some nominators did not avail themselves of their full number of nominations. (Nominations to fill a late-breaking faculty vacancy in Physical and Mathematical Sciences will be presented at the December 5 Senate meeting.)

Nominations to fill two faculty vacancies in Humanities and Creative Arts, and one faculty vacancy each in Basic and Applied Life Sciences and in Engineering:
Basic and Applied Life Sciences:

Professor John Cheeseman (CC)
Dept. of Plant Biology

Professor Peter Constable (VMED)
Dept. of Veterinary Clinical Medicine

Professor James Imlay (LAS)
Dept. of Microbiology

Professor Edward McAuley (ALS)
Dept. of Kinesiology and Community Health

Professor Douglas Parrett (ACES)
Dept. of Animal Sciences

Professor Rodney Burton (ENGR)
Dept. of Aerospace Engineering

Professor Henrique Reis (CC)
Dept. of General Engineering

Professor Mark Rood (ENGR)
Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Humanities and Creative Arts:

Professor Abbas Aminmansour (CC)
Dept. of Architecture

Professor Robert Graves (FAA)
Dept. of Theatre

Professor Gail Hawisher (LAS)
Dept. of English

Professor Andrea Press (COMM)
Institute of Communications Research

Professor Mark Steinberg (LAS)
Dept. of History

Nominations to fill one undergraduate and one graduate/professional student vacancy:
Undergraduate: Amanda Palazzo (CC)
Graduate/Professional: Hassen Al-Shawaf (CC)
Nominations from the floor are not in order. Each person named above is willing to serve. A selection committee consisting of the Chair and Vice Chair of the SEC and the Provost will select the CBOC members from among the above nominees.

Senate Executive Committee
Vernon Burton, Chair

Continuing members of the CBOC:
Basic and Applied Life Sciences: Professor Adrienne Perlman
Dept. of Speech and Hearing Science
Behavioral and Social Sciences: Professor Charles Kahn

Dept. of Economics
Professor Laurian Unnevehr

Agricultural and Consumer Economics

Engineering: Professor Peter Sauer

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Humanities and Creative Arts: None.
Physical/Mathematical Sci.: Professor Jon Thaler
Dept. of Physics
Professional Programs/Library: Professor Mary Eamon
School of Social Work
Professor Arlette Willis
Dept. of Curriculum and Instruction