University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

Academic Calendars CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degree Awards SEC Meeting Schedule Senate Agendas & Minutes Senate Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members Senator Guide

February 25, 2008

Committee on Campus Operations
Prefiled Resolution

CO.08.01        Resolution on Parking

Whereas,        The University has engaged in collective bargaining with certain labor unions and is implementing a salary-based system of parking rates for certain union members and it is now desirable to develop comprehensive parking policies which

                        ·    address faculty concerns about salary based-rates and investigate the feasibility of price differentiated parking,
                        ·    are consistent with plans underway to enhance safety by reducing vehicular traffic on campus,
                        ·    optimize the use of parking space,
                        ·    promote green transportation,
                        ·    give consideration to expansion in parking services such as
                              a)      increasing the frequency of shuttles from satellite parking lots to the main campus,
                              b)      provision of means for occasional access to parking for employees who elect not to park on campus on a regular basis (i.e., transit riders,  cyclists or car/van pool users)
                              c)      allocation of multiple parking areas per permit, and
                              d)     increasing the cost of frequently requested specific parking areas,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign that:

                        A committee be assembled and charged with making a recommendation to the Chancellor to address the aforementioned issues.  The committee shall include representatives from faculty, Council of Academic Professionals, Staff Advisory Council, undergraduate students and Graduate Students, as well as a Business/Economic expert, Sustainability expert, and a member of the Illinois Center for Transportation.

                        The Committee shall be charged with developing a short-term as well as a long-term alternative by January 2009.


Sheldon Katz, Chair
Imad Al-Qadi
Michael B. Bass, ex officio
Steven Benario
J. Lee Beverly

Randy deCelle
John G. Dempsey, ex officio
Cynthia Fisher
Blake Kurasek

James Morrissey
Thomas Overbye
Patrick Vargas
Glen Whitmer