Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

February 15, 1999

Committee on Committees
(Final -Action)

CC.99.06 Senate Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members and one student member who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate. (The Chancellor also appoints one student each from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board and the Illinois Student Government.) Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year. The terms of two faculty members, Thomas McGreal and Mary Slaughter, and student members Adam Collopy and Bryan Lutes, expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 1999.

Continuing faculty members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

John B. Braden, ACES, 2001
Barrington Coleman, FAA, 2001
J. Fred Giertz, CBA, 2002
Matthew Wheeler, ACES, 2000
Joyce Wright, LIBR, 2002

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees. (Biographical information pertaining to each faculty and student nominee is attached.)


To fill two faculty positions for terms expiring in 2003:

Steven Leigh LAS
William D. O'Brien, Jr. ENGR
Lawrence DeBrock CBA
Donald J. Wuebbles ENGR

To fill one student position for a term expiring in 2000:

Richard Stockton LAW

Nancy O'Brien, Chair
Thomas W. Abraham
Carl Altstetter
May R. Berenbaum
Meredith Blumthal
J. Fred Giertz
Robert Sala
James G. Ward

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.