Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

February 23, 2009


Committee on Committees

CC.09.07     Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members (plus two Big Ten faculty representatives) and two student members who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate.  (The Chancellor also appoints one student from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board.)  Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year.  The term of faculty members Larry DeBrock and Ann Nardulli and student members Jim Hanauer and Mallory Martin expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2009.  Continuing members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

                  Faculty:      C. L. Cole                               MDA              2011
                                    Cleo D’Arcy                            ACES            2011
                                    John Erdman                          ACES            2010
                                    E. Kevin Renshler                   AHS              2012
                                    Christopher Span                    EDUC            2010

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees.  (Submitted interest statements for nominees are here.)


To fill two faculty positions for terms expiring in 2013:

                                    Adrian Burgos, Jr.                   LAS
                                    Margaret S. Kelley                  LAS
                                    Mary Mallory                          LIBR
                                    Thomas Ulen                          LAW

To fill two student positions for terms expiring in 2010:

                                    Emily Ganschinietz                 LAS
                                    Lance Kingston                       GRAD
                                    Lauren Minkina                       BUS
                                    Dan O'Connor                         ACES

Committee on Committees
Kim Graber, Chair
Rebecca Bryant
Roy Campbell
Rohit Dhake
Bettina M. Francis
Al Kagan
Jaclyn O’Day
Zenobia Ravji
Ann Reisner

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected.  The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled.  If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.