Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

February 19, 2007


Committee on Committees

CC.07.08     Senate Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members (plus two Big Ten faculty representatives) and two student members who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate.  (The Chancellor also appoints one student from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board.)  Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year.  The terms of faculty members Laurence Parker and Emily Watts and student members Ben Blaiszik and Jeffrey Brown expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2007.  Continuing members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

         Faculty:             Larry DeBrock                         BUS              2009
                                    John Erdman                          ACES            2010
                                    Ann Nardulli                            LAS               2009
                                    Chrstopher Span                   EDUC            2010
                                    Thomas Weissinger              LIBR              2008

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees.  (Submitted interest statements for nominees are attached.)


To fill two faculty positions for terms expiring in 2011:

                                    C. L. Cole                               LAS
                                    Cleo D’Arcy                            ACES
                                    Nelly Gonzalez                      LIBR
                                    Charles Hillman                   AHS

To fill two student positions for terms expiring in 2008:

                                    Ben Blaiszik                         GRAD
                                    Jeff Brown                            LAS
                                    John Yu                                 ENGR
                                    Rebecca Zwang                   AHS

Committee on Committees
Kim Graber, Chair
Ariel Avila
Roy Campbell
Al Kagan
Dana Rabin
Ryan Ruzic
Rachel Schwartz
Jason Webber


Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected.  The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled.  If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.