Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

February 20, 2006


Committee on Committees
(Final; Action )

CC. 06.07 Senate Approval of Nominations for the Athletic Board


The Athletic Board includes seven faculty members (plus two Big Ten faculty representatives) and two student members who are appointed by the Chancellor from nominations submitted by the Urbana-Champaign Senate. (The Chancellor also appoints one student from nominations from the Student Athlete Advisory Board.) Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years; terms of students ordinarily shall be one year, with the possibility of reappointment for an additional year.

The terms of faculty members Kal Alston and Kathleen Conlin and student member Justin Volker expire at the end of the annual meeting of the Athletic Board in the summer of 2006. Continuing members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

Faculty: Larry DeBrock BUS 2009

Ann Nardulli LAS 2009

Laurence Parker EDUC 2007

Emily Watts LAS 2007

Thomas Weissinger LIBR 2008

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees. (Brief biographical information about the nominees is attached.)

Nominations To fill two faculty positions for terms expiring in 2010:

Elizabeth Delacruz FAA

John Erdman ACES

Christopher Span EDUC

Tom Ulen LAW

To fill two student positions for terms expiring in 2007:

Ben Blaiszik GRAD

Jeff Brown LAS

Justin Volker LAS J

ohn Yu ENGR

Committee on Committees

Kim Graber, Chair

Linda Beale

Roy Campbell

Ward Henson


Melissa Kennedy

Josh Rohrscheib

Humair Sabir

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.