Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes CommitteesFaculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Senate/SEC Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

December 9, 2002


Committee on Committees
(Final - Action)

CC.03.07 Nominations for Membership on the Research Policy Committee (RPC)


In accord with a substitute motion for SP.96.03 approved by the Senate on March 19, 2001, there will be one campus Research Policy Committee appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR). The RPC will consist of: 1 chair appointed by the VCR in consultation with the Senate; 1 representative from the Campus Research Board appointed by the VCR; the Dean of the Graduate College; 10 faculty - 5 appointed each year, 4 from a pool of nominees provided by the Senate and 1 appointed directly by the VCR; 1 graduate student and 1 undergraduate student. RPC members whose terms have expired this year are Rodney Burton, Lewis Hopkins, John Katzenellenbogen, Ania Loomba, and Brian Ross, and undergraduate student William Layman.


May Berenbaum LAS 2004
Lizanne DeStefano EDUC 2004
Alma Gottlieb LAS 2004
John Katzenellenbogen LAS 2004
Joseph Martocchio ILIR 2004
Bruce Michelson LAS 2004
Gay Miller VMED 2004
Alan Nathan ENGR 2004

Undergraduate Student:
Andrew Erskine CBA 2003

Continuing Members of the Research Policy Committee

Karl Hess, Chair ENGR 2003
Richard Buckius ENGR 2003
Wojciech Chodzko-Zajko ALS 2003
John Erdman ACES 2003
Keith Hjelmstad ENGR 2003
David Kranz LAS 2003
Connie Shapiro ACES 2003

Graduate/Professional Student:
Bruce Geryk GRAD 2003

Committee on Committees
John Prussing, Chair
Nancy Blake
Robert Darmody
Felipe Hillard
Ronald Peters
Amy Sponsler
Billie Theide
Amanda Vinicky

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.