UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.03.06 Revisions to the *Bylaws* Part D.1(b) - Senate Executive Committee, Membership

BACKGROUND

The Report of the Fifth Senate Review Commission recommended a change in the composition and election procedure of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC). The key problem was to provide permanent membership on the SEC for the chairs of certain Senate committees. In discussions within the SEC and various Senate committees, three possible options were identified:

- Include the chairs of all Senate committees as members of SEC. This would provide a much larger SEC than at present, but would not require selecting some committees as more central than others.
- 2) Include the chairs of four key Senate committees (Educational Policy (EP), General University Policy (GUP), Committee on Committees (CC), and University Statutes and Senate Procedures (USSP)), with the Senate selecting three other committee chairs to be members of SEC. This would not change the size of SEC from the present.
- 3) The status quo, with the seven faculty members of the SEC elected by and from among the faculty chairs of the Senate committees.

A poll of the Senate was taken to determine which of these options was preferred. The results were:

- 1) 27 out of 80 (34%)
- 2) 37 out of 80 (46%)
- 3) 16 out of 80 (20%)

This proposal to change the composition and election of faculty members of the SEC is a result of these activities. Specifically, three standing committee chairs will be elected by the Senate from those chairs eligible and willing to stand for election, and not permanently designated as SEC members (EP, GUP, CC, and USSP). The chair of the Information Technology Committee (IT) is also proposed for permanent membership on SEC, due to the critical nature of the topics under the purview of this committee. (The IT Committee did not exist at the time of the Fifth Senate Review.)

Under the changes proposed below, Senate committee chairs who are non-senators and those who are students would be eligible to be elected to the SEC. Also, the chairs of *ad hoc* Senate committees would no longer be eligible for election to the SEC. Another change is that the election of the committee chairs to SEC would be accomplished by the full Senate, not by caucus of the Senate committee chairs.

The changes in lines 13-15 are housekeeping changes, made necessary by recent changes in the names of the committees mentioned.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is indicated in [brackets] and text to be added is underscored.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.1(b)

(b) Membership

The Senate Executive Committee shall be composed of (a) a Chair and a Vice-Chair, elected by ballot by and from among the membership of the Senate, who shall be the presiding officers of the Senate Executive Committee, (b)[seven faculty senators] three standing committee chairs elected by the Senate [and from among the faculty chairs of the standing and ad hoc committees of the Senate], (c) the Chair of the Committees on Committees, (d) the Chair of the Educational Policy Committee, (e) the Chair of the General University Policy Committee, (f) the Chair of the Information Technology Committee, (g) the Chair of the University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee, [(c)](h) three students, including at least one undergraduate and at least one graduate or professional student, all of whom shall be elected by and from among the student senators, [(d)](i) one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference, elected by the Senate to serve on the Executive Committee, [(e)](j) the campus faculty member of the Faculty Advisory [Committee] Council to the Board of Higher Education ex officio with vote, and [(f)](k) the Chair of the committee which performs the statutory function of the Professional Advisory Committee or the Chair's designee ex officio with voice but no vote, as well as Senate floor privileges. ...

UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES

Joseph Finnerty, Chair
Karen Chapman-Novakofski
Nick Dolce
H. George Friedman
Vera Mainz
Zainab Mirza
David Sisson
Charles Tabb
Robert C. Damrau, ex officio
Thomas M. Eakman, Observer
Kathleen Pecknold, ex officio (designee)