UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Senate Executive Committee

(Final; Action)

SC.18.06 Election of a Faculty Member to the Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members of the Committee on Committees and expiration of their terms are as follows:

Roy Campbell	ENGR	2019
Jennifer Monson	FAA	2018
Nancy O'Brien	LIBR	2019
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	2019

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a short biographical sketch. Nominees must be senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The following faculty members (bio sketches attached) are nominated to fill one faculty vacancy created by the resignation of Amy Ando (ACES) 2018. The person with the highest number of votes will be declared elected.

Lawrence DeBrock BUS Daniel Gilbert LER

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Bettina Francis, Chair Nancy O'Brien, Vice Chair Nicholas Burbules Shawn Gilmore Kim Graber Sam LeRoy William Maher Gay Miller Scott Morris Bryan Parthum Rahul Raju Jeff Stein Mark Steinberg Matthew Wheeler

Nominations from the floor must be from the current Senate membership and must include the nominee's willingness to serve along with a short biographical sketch. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

FACULTY BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Lawrence DeBrock (BUS)

Professor of Finance and Dean Emeritus, College of Business, earned his Ph.D. in Economics from Cornell in 1980. He served as the ninth Dean of the College of Business from 2009-2015. Professor DeBrock has long been associated with the Illinois MBA and has won many awards in teaching, including the Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching in 2001 and the Campus Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching (the Luckman Award) in 1992.

Campus Service, Previous 5 Years: Chair, IGPA Transition Task Force, 2017 – present; Campus Budget Oversight Committee, 2016-2017, 2017-2018; Search Committee, Executive Associate Dean and Chief Diversity Officer, Carle Illinois College of Medicine, 2017; Search Committee, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration, Carle Illinois College of Medicine, 2017; Committee on Committees, UIUC Senate, 2016-2017; Chair, Campus Budget Model Components Working Group, 2016-2017; Chair, Search Committee, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Science, UIUC, 2016; Chair, Campus Instructional Space Advisory Committee, 2013-14, 2014-15; UIUC Facilities & Services Oversight Committee. 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15; Chair, UA Review Team #6, Review of the Office of the Vice President for Administration and Finance, University Accounting and Financial Reporting, Treasury Operations/Capital Finance, University Office of Capital Programs and Real Estate Services, and Utilities 2012-2014.

Daniel Gilbert (LER)

Daniel Gilbert is an assistant professor in the School of Labor and Employment Relations. He came to Illinois in 2011, having taught previously at Macalester College in St. Paul, MN. He earned his Ph.D. In American Studies from Yale, and specializes in U.S. labor history. His first book (2013) was a labor history of the transnational baseball industry, and he is currently working on a study of the history of public employee unionism.