UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Senate Executive Committee

(Final; Action)

SC.18.04 Election of a Faculty Member to the Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members of the Committee on Committees and expiration of their terms are as follows:

Amy Ando	ACES	2018
Roy Campbell	ENGR	2019
Nancy O'Brien	LIBR	2019
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	2019

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a short biographical sketch. Nominees must be senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The following faculty members are nominated to fill one faculty vacancy created by the resignation of Lisa Monda-Amaya (EDUC) 2018. The person with the highest number of votes will be declared elected.

Jennifer Monson	FAA
Christopher Span	EDUC

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Bettina Francis, Chair Nancy O'Brien, Vice Chair Nicholas Burbules Shawn Gilmore Kim Graber Sam LeRoy Gay Miller Scott Morris Bryan Parthum Rahul Raju Jeff Stein Mark Steinberg Matthew Wheeler

Nominations from the floor must be from the current Senate membership and must include the nominee's willingness to serve along with a short biographical sketch. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

FACULTY BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

Jennifer Monson (FAA)

Jennifer Monson uses choreographic practice as a means to discover connections between environmental, philosophical and aesthetic approaches to knowledge and understandings of our surroundings. As Artistic Director of iLAND (interdisciplinary Laboratory for Art Nature Dance) she creates large-scale dance projects informed and inspired by phenomena of the natural and the built environment. Her projects include BIRD BRAIN (2000-2006), *iMAP/Ridgewood Reservoir (2007), Mahomet Aquifer Project* (2009), *SIP (sustained immersive process)/watershed* (2010), *Live Dancing Archive* (2012-14) and *in tow* (2014-16). Monson has been on the faculty at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign since 2008 and was a Marsh Professor at Large at the University of Vermont (2010-16). She served on the executive committee of the School of Fine and Applied Arts from 2008-2010 and serves currently on the Senate.

Christopher Span (EDUC)

Christopher M. Span is the Associate Dean for Academic Programs and an Associate Professor (History of Education) in the Department of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership in the College of Education. He received his baccalaureate, master, and doctorate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research interests pertain to the educational history of African Americans in the 19th and 20th century. He is one of two faculty athletics representatives at Illinois, has served on five Chancellor- or Provost-appointed committees, including the Campus Budget Oversight Committee (CBOC) and the Committee on Race and Ethnicity (CORE), and has an extensive service record across campus, the Champaign-Urbana community, his profession, discipline, and state. His efforts have built bridges and partnerships that have enhanced the overall profile of the university. He believes in the transformative power of research, teaching, and service, and is committed to ensuring Illinois is a diverse and inclusive university that is both accessible and affordable.