UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final;Action)

SC.12.08 Nominations to Fill a Faculty Vacancy on Committee on Committees created by the Resignation of Brendesha Tynes (EDUC).

Background

The Bylaws, Part D.6(c) states:

- (c) Nomination and Election of Faculty and Student Members
 - Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators, and for student committee positions by student senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee.
 - 2. If necessary, a preliminary ballot shall be held to reduce the number of faculty or student nominees, as the case may be, to twice the number of positions to be filled. In any such preliminary ballot, each student senator may vote for as many student nominees as there are student committee positions to be filled, and each faculty senator may vote for as many faculty nominees as there are faculty committee positions to be filled. Cumulative voting shall not be allowed.
 - 3.
- a) The final election shall be by ballot.
- b) The final ballot shall contain the names of at least twice as many faculty senators as there are faculty positions and at least twice as many student senators as there are student positions to be filled. Among the students named, there shall be at least two undergraduates if an undergraduate is to be elected and at least two graduate or professional students if a graduate or professional student is to be elected.
- c) If there was a preliminary ballot, the names on the final ballot shall be those of the nominees receiving the highest numbers of votes on that preliminary ballot.
- d) With respect to either the faculty nominees or the student nominees, the names on the final ballot from any college, school, institute, or similar unit shall not exceed one if fewer than three committee positions are to be filled, or two if more than two committee positions are to be filled.
- e) In determining which nominees received the highest numbers of votes on the nominating ballots, the names of persons who would be barred from the final ballot by subparagraph (d) shall be disregarded.
- 4. On the final ballot each senator may vote both for as many faculty nominees as there are faculty positions to be filled, and for as many student nominees as there are student positions to be filled. Cumulative voting shall not be allowed. The faculty nominees and the student nominees receiving the highest numbers of votes shall be elected, except in cases where subsection (b) above Membership above would thereby be violated.

Following are the continuing faculty members and the years their terms expire:

Bettina Francis	LAS	2012
Harley T Johnson	ENGR	2013
Prasanta Kalita	ACES	2013
John Kindt	BUS	2012

Nominations

The following faculty members are nominated to fill one faculty vacancy with a two-year term on Committee on Committees, expiring in 2013. A bio-sketch of each nominee is included below. The faculty nominee receiving the highest numbers of votes shall be elected.

Cris Mayo	EDUC
Lynne Rudasill	LIBR

Senate Executive Committee

Matthew Wheeler, Chair Joyce Tolliver, Vice-Chair Abbas Aminmansour **Richard Atterberry Robert Brunner Nicholas Burbules Roy Campbell Bettina Francis** Kim Graber **Kaitlyn Hastings** Harry Hilton Peter Hughes William Maher Jim Maskeri Gay Miller Sarah Projansky

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

CRIS MAYO (EDUC)

Cris Mayo has been at the university since 2003. She is an associate professor in the Departments of Education Policy, Organization and Leadership and Gender and Women's Studies and served as interim director of GWS from 2006-2009. She has served as chair of the Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Women, co-chair the Council on Gender Equity, been a member of the Chancellor's Advisory Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues and the Diversity Initiatives Committee. Service to the College of Education includes the Human Subjects Review Committee, Diversity working Group, and EPOL Advisory Committee. She is currently Executive Director of the Philosophy of Education Society.

LYNNE RUDASILL (LIBR)

Lynne Rudasill is an Associate Professor of Library Administration and serves as the Global Studies Librarian with additional duties as Political Science Subject Specialist at the University Library. She has served on a variety of committees in the Academic Senate including Student Discipline and Academic Freedom and Tenure. Most recently she ended a three year term as Chair of the Military Education Council. Her area of research is the dissemination of information via technology in the areas of grey literature, user interfaces and learning.