## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN FACULTY ADVISORY COMMITTEE Annual Report to the Faculty 2011-2012

The Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC) is established by the *University Statutes*, Article II, Section 4. At the Urbana-Champaign campus, the FAC is comprised of nine tenured faculty; each year three are elected directly by the faculty and serve three-year terms. The FAC offers added recourse for the consideration of grievances, and furnishes a channel for direct and concerted communication between the faculty and the administrative officers of the University. Any faculty member, current or retired, may voice a suggestion for the good of the University or request consultation with the FAC through any of its members. The FAC prefers to investigate a suggestion or grievance only after other University avenues of appeal (typically at the unit and college level) have been exhausted. All contacts with the FAC remain entirely confidential.

The FAC meets twice each month, year-round, to consider issues brought to its attention by faculty and administrators. Committee meetings follow the requirements of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, with all personnel matters discussed confidentially in closed session. The FAC also meets periodically with the Provost to discuss specific cases and broader faculty issues. The Committee reports annually to the Chancellor, the President, the Senate, and the faculty.

The members of the FAC are charged first and foremost with the best interests of the University. The Committee advocates for fairness and equity in the application of campus policy and procedures as they apply to faculty. We encourage faculty to considering nominating themselves or a colleague to serve on the FAC: any tenured member of the faculty is eligible to serve on the Committee, except those who hold an administrative appointment. Elections are held in April; details are on the FAC site at www.fac.illinois.edu.

The 2011-2012 academic year began with changes in staffing and support for the FAC. We are now supported by Christine Pierson from the Office of Academic Human Resources, Suite 420, Illini Union Bookstore Building, MC-310. The annual election for membership on the FAC, held annually in April, is still administered by the Clerk of the Campus Senate.

In September 2011 Andreas Polycarpou was elected chair of the FAC; he resigned as chair in January 2012 and Craig Koslofsky was elected chair. Koslofsky was re-elected as FAC chair in August 2012 for 2012-13. In August 2012 continuing FAC members Mary Arends-Kuenning

(ACES), Sandra Kopels (Social Work), Craig Koslofsky (LAS), Mary Laskowski (University Library), Andreas Polycarpou (Engineering), Gabriel Solis (Fine and Applied Arts), and Billie Theide (Fine and Applied Arts), welcomed newly-elected Sally Jackson (LAS) to the committee.

The FAC met with fifteen faculty members over the course of the 2011-12 academic year; in most cases we met with individual faculty members more than once to discuss their concerns and grievances, and help them find the appropriate channels for their issues. In one instance the FAC opened an investigation and spoke with the relevant faculty and administrative officers; we are now preparing a report and recommendations for the Provost on the issues raised.

The Committee works for faculty across campus. In November 2011 the Committee was briefed by University Counsel regarding the Illinois Open Meetings Act and campus compliance with Freedom of Information Act requests. We also initiated an ongoing discussion with Vice Provost Barbara Wilson concerning adjunct faculty and their access to grievance committees. Billie Theide, current member and former chair of the FAC, spoke at the annual campus workshop on promotion and tenure sponsored by the AAUP, and FAC chair Craig Koslofsky described the role and activities of the FAC to the Council of Deans at their February 2012 meeting.

Further information on the Faculty Advisory Committee, including our Articles of Procedure and contact information, can be found at <u>www.fac.illinois.edu</u>.

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Koslofsky chair, Faculty Advisory Committee