UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.18.08 Nominations to the Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall provide advice to the Chancellor's Office on issues of social responsibility related to campus investment, licensing, and naming rights consistent with the values of the university. Issues within its responsibility include, but are not limited to, licensing of the campus's names, symbols, and insignia; supporting workers' rights and fair labor practices; sponsorship of products; and corporate social responsibility more generally. The Committee will also review proposals to name campus buildings, classrooms, or other physical facilities for donors or other honorees.

Three of the faculty positions and the student positions shall be filled as follows. The Committee on Committees shall prepare, and the Senate shall approve, a list of candidates, with at least two nominees for each position to be filled. The Chancellor, in consultation with the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, shall appoint members from the list. The Chancellor shall appoint up to two additional faculty members of the Chancellor's choosing, in consultation with the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, to bring the total to five.

The faculty members shall serve staggered, renewable terms of three years.

Continuing faculty members of the Committee and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

Sheldon Katz	LAS	2019
Bruce Rosenstock	LAS	2017
Wendy Shelburne	LIBR	2018
Scott Tainsky	AHS	2018
Lesley Wexler	LAW	2019

NOMINATIONS

Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill one faculty vacancy with a term ending 2020. If no additional nominations are made, the two nominees below will be forwarded to the Chancellor for selection of one faculty member to serve.

David Dubin SIS Bruce Rosenstock LAS

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Nancy O'Brien, Chair
Roy Campbell
Tim Flanagin
Daniel Gilbert
David Hanley
Jennifer Monson
Annalisa Roncone
Ryan Schiffer
Joyce Tolliver
Jenny Roether, ex officio

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.