October 23, 2017

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.18.06 Nominations for Membership to the Research Policy Committee

BACKGROUND

The Research Policy Committee advises the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR), and the Senate on matters of research policy. The Committee should have no fewer than ten members and no more than fifteen members, and the VCR appoints all members of the committee, typically for two year terms. The Committee has a faculty chair selected in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee. At least eight members of the Committee shall be faculty chosen from nominations provided by the Senate Committee on Committees, submitted to the full Senate for approval and subsequent transmittal of the nominees to the VCR. The other members shall be appointed by the VCR and may include students and academic professionals.

Continuing faculty members of the Research Policy Committee are as follows:

Nicole Allen	LAS	2018
Jeff Brawn	ACES	2018
John Hart	ENGR	2018
Mariselle Melendez	LAS	2018

NOMINATIONS

Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill two faculty vacancies created by the resignations of Sarah Lubienski and Susan Martinis, both with terms ending 2018, and two annual faculty vacancies, both with terms ending 2019. If no additional nominations are made, the nominees below will be forwarded to the VCR for selection of four faculty members.

Gabrielle Allen	EDUC
Matthew Ando	LAS
Jennifer Bernhard	ENGR
Martin Camargo	LAS
Mahdu Khanna	ACES
Jeffrey Woods	AHS

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Nancy O'Brien, Chair Roy Campbell Tim Flanagin David Hanley Jennifer Monson Annalisa Roncone Ryan Schiffer Joyce Tolliver Jenny Roether, ex officio

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.