UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final;Action)

CC.13.01 Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

Background

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

In accord with this passage from the *Statutes*, the University Senates Conference has recently recalculated its faculty apportionment among the Chicago, Springfield, and Urbana-Champaign campuses. As a result, there are now ten (10) representatives from the Urbana campus to the University Senates Conference. Continuing members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire:

Kenneth E. Andersen	LAS	2013
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	2013
Kim Graber	AHS	2014
Carol Skalnik Leff	LAS	2014
Mary Mallory	LIBR	2014
Leslie Struble	ENGR	2013
Matthew Wheeler	ACES	2014

Nominations

The following faculty are nominated for three-year terms on USC, expiring in 2015. A bio-sketch of each nominee is included below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

George Francis	LAS	2015
Prasanta Kalita	ACES	2015
Roy Campbell	LAS	2015

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Bettina Francis, Chair Damani Bolden Harley T. Johnson Prasanta Kalita John Kindt Jim Maskeri Cris Mayo Mary Ellen O'Shaughnessey Chaya Sandler Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

Roy Campbell (ENGR)

Sohaib and Sara Abbasi Professor of Computer Science, Roy Campbell has taught at UIUC since 1976. He is an IEEE Fellow, Director of Graduate Admissions and Advancement for the Department of Computer Science, Director of the UIUC's Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education, Director of the Air Force funded Assured Cloud Center and Researcher on the Architecture & Operations Advisory Council of the Internet 2 Society. He has supervised forty four Ph.D. Dissertations, one hundred twenty four M.S. theses, and is the author of over two hundred and ninety research papers. He has chaired the Senate Information Technology Committee and served on the Senate Executive Committee, University Senates Conference, Adhoc Committee on Enrollment, Committee of Committees, University Management and Technology Committee (USC Representative), and General University Policy Committee. He was an early advocate for campus networking being Chairman of the Engineering College Computer and Networks Committee 1984-1986.

George Francis (LAS)

George Francis served on the University Senates Conference for the past three years, the most interesting of this committee in several decades. As an independent on most controversies he has not always voted with the majority in the interest of collegiality. Despite his disapproval of centralization at all levels, he is ready to work with the Board and the new University Administration to increase shared governance and faculty participation at all levels. As a faculty brat in a liberal arts university, teaching math since his junior year in college, for the past 44 years at Illinois and with four living professors in his family, he is committed to the idea of the university as a noble, thousand year old humanistic institution.

He collaborates with colleagues at the Illinois Simulator Lab of the Beckman, the Electronic Visualization Lab at UIC, the Advanced Visualization Lab at the NCSA. He is Prof. of Mathematics, the Campus Honors Program, the Beckman Institute, and senior research scientist at the NCSA. He received the Amoco Award for curricular innovation and was the founding PI of the REU site in mathematics. He has been in the UIUC Senate since assistant professors were first admitted to it, serving on the Student Life, Operation and Maintenance, and Information Technology (chair) committees. He served in departmental executive, promotion and tenure, computer steering, library committees, and is now Interim Director of NetMath.

Prasanta Kalita (ACES)

Dr. Prasanta K. Kalita is a Professor and Leader of Soil & Water Resources Engineering program of the Agricultural & Biological Engineering Department. He has a well-funded research program both nationally and internationally, has published extensively in peer reviewed journals and currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of a peer-reviewed journal. Dr. Kalita has won departmental, college, campus, regional, and national awards, and has been recognized with Distinguished Teacher Scholar Award on Campus. He currently is a member of the UIUC Senate and serves on two Senate committees: Educational Policy Committee and Committee on Committees. In 2005, Dr. Kalita won the National Award of the USDA Higher Education Program for excellence in college and university teaching.

In 2009, Dr. Kalita served on the UIUC Provost Search Committee. He currently chairs the Campus Committee on Race and Ethnicity (CORE), serves on the Campus Teaching Advancement Board (TAB), serves on the College of ACES P&T Committee, and serves on the Provost Advisory Group. He has served as co-chair on TAB, chaired the ACES Administrators Evaluation Committee, chaired the Engineering Grievance Committee, and chaired the Campus Study Abroad Advisory Committee. Currently, Dr. Kalita serves on both colleges of Engineering and ACES Executive Committees. He has served on numerous other campus, colleges (Engineering and ACES), department committees, and national and international professional societies and government panels. He completed the US Land Grant Institutions LEAD 21 Leadership Program.