# UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.12.01 Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

#### **Background**

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

In accord with this passage from the *Statutes*, the University Senates Conference has recently recalculated its faculty apportionment among the Chicago, Springfield, and Urbana-Champaign campuses. As a result, there are now ten (10) representatives from the Urbana campus to the University Senates Conference. Continuing members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire:

Kenneth E. Andersen	LAS	2013
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	2013
Roy Campbell	ENGR	2012
George Francis	LAS	2012
Nancy O'Brien	LIBR	2012
Leslie Struble	ENGR	2013

# **Nominations**

The following faculty are nominated for three-year terms on USC, expiring in 2014. A bio-sketch of each nominee is included below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

Kim Graber	AHS
Mary Mallory	LIBR
Terry Weech	LISC
Matthew Wheeler	ACES

### **COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES**

Kim Graber, Chair Elizabeth Delacruz Hannah Ehrenberg Bettina Francis Karen Hogenboom Vilas Jagannath John Kindt Mary Ellen O'Shaughnessey Jim Maskeri Robert C. Damrau, *ex officio* 

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

# Kim Graber (AHS)

Kim C. Graber is associate head in the Department of Kinesiology and Community Health and Director of the College of Applied Health Sciences (AHS) Teaching Academy. Her research interests include children's wellness, teacher education, and the scholarship of teaching and learning. At the national level, she has served as president of her professional association, chair of the Curriculum and Instruction Academy, and secretary of the Research Consortium. At the University of Illinois, she has served on the Faculty Senate, Senate Executive Committee, chair of Committee on Committees, Chancellor Search Committee, Provost Search Committee, Honorary Degrees Committee, Provost's Council on Gender Equity, Teaching Advancement Board, Illinois Leadership Coordinating Committee, AHS Executive Committee, AHS James Scholar Committee, and chair of AHS Educational Policy Committee. She is a University of Illinois Distinguished Teacher/Scholar and received the 2009 Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

## Mary Mallory (LIBR)

Mary Mallory is Associate Professor of Library Administration and Coordinator, Government Information Services, Access, and Collections, University Library. She has taught LIS 525, Government Information, at GSLIS. Her research focuses on scholarly use of government information, including e-government information, federal information policy and the public's "right to know," government depository library history, and early 20th century library development in the South. A new research interest is higher education governance and policy. Her Senate service includes over ten years as a senator, and she has chaired and/or served on the following committees: University Senates Conference (one term), Senate Executive Committee, General University Policy, Honorary Degrees, and Public Engagement. She currently serves on the Athletic Board. Within the Library, she chairs the new Government Information Services Advisory Committee, and is an elected member of the Library's Faculty Review Committee. She has also chaired the Library's Equal Employment Opportunity Committee. She is active professionally at the national and state levels, and is at present an elected at-large member of the American Library Association's Council, its governing body, and is vice-chair of the ALA's Association for College and Research Libraries Government Relations Committee. Ms. Mallory has been employed professionally in the private sector and at private universities, including Harvard and Columbia. She holds degrees from the University of Michigan and Michigan State University.

## Terry Weech (LISC)

Terry Weech has been with the Graduate School of Library and Information Science since 1980. His area of research and teaching is in the management and evaluation of programs and services and international librarianship. His Senate experience includes Chair of the Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee, Member of the Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures, the Academic Calendar Committee, the Senate Library Committee, the Senate Council Subcommittee on Capricious Grading Procedures, and a member of the Senate Council Task Force on Productivity and Faculty Workload. He served as the UIUC Faculty Representative to the Faculty Advisory Committee of the Illinois Board of Higher Education, 1998-2000 and was a member of the University Senates Conference, 1997-99, 1999-2002. He has been awarded five Fulbright Senior Specialist grants to work with librarians and library educators in Bulgaria, Croatia, Italy, Slovakia, and Slovenia. He as been Chair of the Education and Training Section and the Chair of Education and Research Division of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions.

#### Matthew B. Wheeler (ACES)

Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has a doctoral degree specializing in physiology and biophysics, and has conducted more than 20 years of research on embryo and developmental biology of livestock. His fields of professional interest are microfluidics; nanometer-scale integrated systems, biology of single mammalian embryos, embryonic and adult stem cells, remote sensing of embryo metabolism and embryonic health, microcalorimetry, MEMS actuators, tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. Dr. Wheeler has published 90 papers in peer- reviewed scientific papers, and more than 86 book chapters, proceedings and technical articles. He is a member of the Board of Governors of the International Embryo Transfer Society and was its President in 2005.

Dr. Wheeler's responsibilities at UIUC include teaching and research in biotechnology and reproductive biology in the Departments of Animal Sciences, Veterinary Clinical Medicine and Bioengineering. Dr. Wheeler was

educated at the University of California-Davis, Colorado State University, the University of Virginia and the University of Wisconsin. His awards include D.E. Becker Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and Counseling, Animal Sciences, UIUC (1999); and University Scholar, 2002. Dr. Wheeler was Chair of the Academic Progress and Eligibility Committee of the Athletic Board and Chair of the Board from 1999-2002. He is one of the Faculty Athletic Representatives for the University to the Big Ten Conference and the NCAA. Dr. Wheeler has served on the UIUC Senate since 2003. He has served on the Senate Committees on Admissions, Conference on Conduct Governance, and General University Policy. Dr. Wheeler has served as the USC representative to the Senate Executive Committee, was elected SEC Vice Chair in 2009 and 2010, and served as USC Chair in 2010-11.