UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Information)

CC.11.05 Nominations for Membership on the Chancellor Search Committee

BACKGROUND:

On November 8, 2010, the Senate approved the following composition of the chancellor search committee (SC.11.07):

Chair: One member of the faculty. Committee on Committees and Senate Executive Committee jointly will make two nominations. Senate will elect two. President will select one as chair and the other as one of the eight faculty members.

Eight faculty members: Committee on Committees will nominate 12 to 14 members of the faculty electorate. Senate will elect five, Senate Executive Committee will elect two, and President will select one, as noted above.

Three students: Committee on Committees will nominate three to six members of the student electorate: at least one undergraduate student, with no more than one from the same college, and at least one graduate student, with no more than one from the same disciplinary college, or professional student, with no more than one from the same college. Senate will elect three.

One dean or director: Senate Executive Committee will nominate two members, after consultation with the Academic Council of Deans and the Urbana-Champaign Interim Chancellor. Senate will elect one.

One academic professional: Senate Executive Committee will nominate two members, after consultation with the Urbana-Champaign Council of Academic Professionals. Senate will elect one.

One staff: Senate Executive Committee will nominate two members, after consultation with the Staff Advisory Council. Senate will elect one.

Committee on Committees will provide a brief biographical sketch of each nominee. Additional nominations may be made from the floor of the Senate in accordance with Article VI, Section 11, of the Senate Constitution. Only faculty members are eligible to nominate and elect faculty members of the search committee, and only student members are eligible to nominate and elect student members of the search committee, in separate votes. For nominations from the floor, a brief biographical sketch will be made available and the person nominated must be present to assent orally or must have provided a written statement of willingness to be nominated and to serve if elected.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

NOMINATIONS FOR THE CHANCELLOR SEARCH COMMITTEE:

Faculty:

James D. Anderson (EDUC) Abbas Benmamoun (LAS) Jeffrey Brown (BUS Andreas C. Cangellaris (ENGR) Jon Gant (GSLIS) Kim Graber (AHS) William Maher (LIBR)

Students:

Amy Allen (Undergraduate, ENGR) Carey Hawkins Ash (Graduate, LAW/EDUC) Daniel Cohen (Undergraduate, LAS)

Dean: Larry DeBrock (BUS)

Academic Professional: Tim Barnes

Staff: Debbie Kemphues

Margaret Grossman (ACES) Anne D. Hedeman (FAA) Richard L. Kaplan (LAW) Carol W. Maddox (VMED) Dana Rabin (LAS) Joseph Rosenblatt (LAS) Matthew B. Wheeler (ACES)

Grace Kenney (Undergraduate, FAA) Jordan McNamara (Undergraduate, BUS) Ewan Robinson (Graduate, Geography)

Ruth Watkins (LAS)

Susan McKenna

Alicia Lowery

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Committee on Committees

Kim Graber, Chair Elizabeth Delacruz Vilas Jagannath John Kindt Hannah Ehrenberg Bettina Francis Karen Hogenboom James Maskeri Mary Ellen O'Shaughnessey Robert Damrau, *ex officio*