UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Action)

SC.26.02 Election of Student Senators to the 2025-2026 Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Senate Committee on Committees (CC) includes student representation as outlined in Part D.6.b of the Senate *Bylaws*. Two student senators, one undergraduate and one graduate or professional student, serve on the committee. Additionally, a designated seat is held by the Deputy Speaker of the Illinois Student Council or the Deputy's designee.

Nominations for the CC shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee (SEC). Nominations may also be made for student committee positions by student senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee. Nominees must be student senators at the time the committee term begins. *Bylaws* Part D.6.c.1

NOMINATIONS

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) nominates the following student senators to serve a one-year term ending **2026** on the Senate Committee on Committees.

<u>Undergraduate Student Senator Nominees</u>
Sohan Hajra
LAS
Myles Johnson
ENGR
Graduate Student Senator Nominees
Graduate student senator vacancy

A statement of interest from each nominee is included below.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

Each senator may vote for up to **one undergraduate student senator nominee** and **one graduate or professional student senator nominee**. Cumulative voting is not permitted. The nominees with the highest number of votes in each category will be declared elected.

2024-2025 SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Jon Hale, Chair
Angela Lyons, Vice Chair
Maya Crystal
David Dalpiaz
Hunter Farnham

Steve Hall
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins
Yvette Johnson-Walker
Joanne Kaczmarek
Eric Kurt
Ralph Mathisen
Gay Miller
Nolan Miller
Sean Murphy
James Quisenberry
Charles Roseman
Chaya Sandler
Jessica Williams
H. George Friedman, ex officio
Robert Jones, ex officio

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST

Sohan Hajra, Undergraduate Student, LAS

I'm honored to have been elected to the Senate, and I'm eager to contribute meaningfully from day one. I'm applying to serve on the Senate Executive Committee because I believe leadership isn't just about experience — it's about showing up, listening closely, and asking the right questions. While I'm new to the Senate, I've always leaned into responsibility and led with curiosity, initiative, and respect. I care deeply about how decisions are made at this university and want to help make those decisions more transparent, inclusive, and action-oriented. I don't have all the answers, but I know how to collaborate, how to learn quickly, and how to represent people with honesty and accountability. I'd be proud to help shape the work of the SEC and ensure it remains connected to the students, faculty, and staff it serves.

Myles Johnson, Undergraduate Student, ENGR

As a present member of Committee on Committees, I have attended every meeting and still have so much to learn. In the two months I have had as a member I have contributed not only by arriving on time and often in order for us to reach quorum, but also by researching our candidates and upholding our University committee members to a professional standard. As a 2025-2026 senator, I am continuing to advocate for student engagement in the Senate, and serving on the Committee on Committees allows me to continue a mutually beneficial relationship for the Senate and the students involved.