UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Action)

SC.26.01 Election of Faculty Senators to the 2025-2026 Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Senate Committee on Committees (CC) includes faculty representation as outlined in Part D.6.b of the Senate *Bylaws*. Five faculty senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with at most one from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Nominations for the CC shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee (SEC). Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee. Nominees must be faculty senators at the time the committee term begins. *Bylaws* Part D.6.c.1

Continuing faculty members with terms expiring 2026:

Kent Choquette	ENGR
Linda Herrera	EDUC

NOMINATIONS

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) nominates the following faculty senators to serve a twoyear term ending **2027** on the Senate Committee on Committees.

Gal Hochman	ACES
Tania Ionin	LAS
Bernhard Scully	FAA

A statement of interest from each nominee is included below.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

Each senator may vote for up to **three faculty senator nominees**. Cumulative voting is not permitted. The three nominees with the highest number of votes, with at most one from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit, will be declared elected.

2024-2025 SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Jon Hale, Chair

Angela Lyons, Vice Chair Maya Crystal David Dalpiaz Hunter Farnham Steve Hall Jeffrey Eric Jenkins Yvette Johnson-Walker Joanne Kaczmarek Eric Kurt Ralph Mathisen Gay Miller Nolan Miller Sean Murphy James Quisenberry **Charles Roseman** Chaya Sandler Jessica Williams H. George Friedman, ex officio Robert Jones, ex officio

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST

Gal Hochman, Professor, Agricultural and Consumer Economics – ACES

Gal Hochman is a Professor of Environmental and Resource Economics in the Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Hochman received his Ph.D. in Economics from Columbia University in 2004. Although, while coming out of his Ph.D., he focused on international trade agreements and crony capitalism, his stay at UC Berkeley introduced him to energy and agricultural biotechnology. His current focus includes issues related to development, energy, the environment, technology, and trade. Dr. Hochman is also keen on understanding the importance of policy in facilitating the transition to sustainable and resilient supply chains and an improved understanding of aquaculture technologies and their role in future food supply chains. Dr. Hochman has presented his work at numerous conferences, has 62 peer-reviewed publications, some in top journals, and has 121 publications. He is currently the board chair of the Council On Agricultural Food & Resource Economics.

Tania Ionin, Professor, Linguistics – LAS

Tania Ionin is Professor of Linguistics, specializing in second language acquisition and experimental linguistics. She has been the Director of Graduate Studies for Linguistics for over ten years and is incoming Head of Linguistics. Her service on college and university committees has included the LAS Executive Committee, the Graduate College Executive Committee, the General Education Board (including as chair), the Academic Senate, the Graduate College Fellowship Board, and Campus Research Board. She has also served on the advisory committee

SC.26.01 Page 2 of 3 for the SLATE program, and on executive committees for the Russian, East European, and Eurasian Center and for the School of Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics. Outside of her university service, Dr. Ionin is an associate editor for the journal Language Acquisition and has served on a grant review panel for the National Science Foundation.

Bernhard Scully, Associate Professor, Music – FAA

International horn soloist, Bernhard Scully, is Associate Professor of Horn at the University of Illinois and Artistic Director of Cormont Music and the Kendall Betts Horn Camp. Formerly he was long-time horn player of the Canadian Brass and principal horn of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. He is honored to be a member of the University of Illinois Faculty Senate, serving also on the Committee on General University Policy. He is excited to further serve the university as a member of the Committee on Committees. Bernhard resides in Urbana with his family. His wife, Sarah, is a music therapist, currently working as the child development coordinator at the Urbana Crisis Nursery. They have three daughters, two cats, and a Springer Spaniel.