## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON THE BUDGET (Final; Information)

BG.25.02 2025-2026 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on the Budget

This report summarizes the activities of the Senate Committee on the Budget (BG) during the 2024-2025 academic year. BG held four meetings during the fall 2024 semester (September 24, October 15, November 12, December 10) and three meetings during the spring 2025 semester (February 18, March 25, April 15). More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

BG received relevant updates from the ex officio member from the Office of the Provost.

## I. ITEMS REMAINING ON AGENDA

## BG.24.03, Discussion of Proposed Resolution on the Allocation of Funds to Address the Costs of Collective Bargaining Agreements

Shawn Gilmore, LAS senator and representative of the resolution sponsors, attended the March 27, 2024 meeting and shared a resolution regarding the allocation of funds to address the cost of collective bargaining agreements.

## **BG.25.01**, Discussion of Indirect Cost Recovery

During the current year, several meetings were devoted to ICR issues. Invited guests included Sharee Robinson, Executive Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, who shared with the committee what Indirect Cost Recovery (ICR) means. ICR is the way the campus collects facilities and administrative (F&A) costs or overhead costs associated with managing grants.

Jamie Hackett, Assistant Provost and Director of Budgets Operation, shared with the committee that every four years System Government Costing does a calculation, and they look at the total allowable overhead costs across the University, which are Administrative and Facilities expenses.

Tessa Hile, Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration, Engineering Administration and Nichole Isaac, Assistant Dean for Business and Administration, Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Science Administration, met with the committee to discuss how Indirect Cost Recovery distributions are handled in their units.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON THE BUDGET Peter Silhan, Chair

Neil Baer Anustup Basu Trinity Choi Michael LeRoy Milosh Sasic Lindsey Stirek Harsh Taneja William Bernhard, ex officio