University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.25.17 Faculty Nominations to the 2025-2026 Athletic Board

BACKGROUND

The Athletic Board serves as an advisory committee to the Chancellor and the Athletic Director on the financial management, personnel, and other operational aspects of the intercollegiate athletics program in the Division of Intercollegiate Athletics. The Athletic Board consists of seven faculty members, appointed by the Chancellor from nominations by the Senate. Two nominees for membership on the Board shall be elected by the Senate for each faculty position to be filled from the Senate.

Terms of faculty ordinarily shall be four years, and faculty may be reappointed to a second term but are then ineligible for reappointment until a period equaling the length of their second term has passed. Caitlin Clarke and Steven Hall have terms ending 2025. Faculty members of the Athletic Board and the expiration of their terms are as follows:

Caitlin Clarke	AHS	2025
Randall Green	LAW	2027
Steven Hall	MDA	2025
Christopher Kempf	LAS	2026
Eric Larson	BUS	2026
Linda Moorhouse	FAA	2027

NOMINATIONS

The Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees. Submitted interest statements from nominees are attached.

The following faculty members are nominated to fill two annual faculty vacancies, with terms ending in 2029. If no additional nominations are made, the nominees below will be forwarded to the Chancellor for the appointment of two.

Paige Caldarella	FAA	Caitlin Clarke	AHS
Kent Choquette	ENGR	Steven Hall	MDA

The Committee on Committees also recommends approval of the following faculty member to continue serving as Academic Progress and Eligibility Chair.

Caitlin Clarke

AHS

2026

Additional nominations may be made from the floor. Whether from the Committee on Committees or from the floor, each nomination shall have the consent of the nominee. (*Bylaws* Part B.5)

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES
Chaya Sandler, Chair
Kent Choquette
Linda Herrera
Prasanta Kalita
Robin Kar
Carol Symes
Jenny Roether, ex officio

FACULTY STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Paige Caldarella (Associate Professor, FAA)

Paige Cunningham Caldarella has a longstanding commitment to student health and wellness and can leverage her expertise in dance, alongside her years of professional dance training to bring a unique perspective to the Athletic Board. Her background as a professional dancer, combined with her previous academic leadership role as an Associate Chair, and her current participation on the FAA's DEIA committee, brings a depth of distinctive experience to the table. She understands the rigorous demands of collegiate-level training and regularly attends various intercollegiate athletic programs. Additionally, Caldarella serves on the Board of Directors for the American College Dance Association, an organization dedicated to supporting the breadth of talent across collegiate dance programs nationwide. As an alumna of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, she has a deep understanding of the university experience from both a faculty and student perspective, making her well-suited to represent the institution and uphold its educational values.

Caitlin Clarke (Assistant Teaching Professor, AHS)

Dr. Caitlin Clarke currently serves on the Athletic Board and as the Chair of the Academic Progress and Eligibility Committee. Dr. Clarks has been a member of the Athletic Board since Fall 2021 and APEC Chair since Academic Year 2022-2023. She worked hard to foster a collaborative relationship with DIA staff to ensure student athletes meet academic standards expected of the University while also supporting DIA staff in navigating the unique needs of Student Athletes. This appointment aligns with her research focused on physical activity and mental health, specifically related to collegiate athletes. Dr. Clarke also co-chairs the HRI Interdisciplinary Sport Studies research cluster. She seeks a second appointment to continue the work in these areas.

Kent Choquette (Professor, ENGR)

Professor Kent Choquette has been part of the University of Illinois community for 25 years and has been named to the List of Faculty Rated Excellent many semesters. He has served as Chair of the University Student Life Senate Committee, on the Student Conduct subcommittee, Military Education committee, and multiple terms on the Illini Senate. He is an avid fan of Illini athletics with season football tickets continuously since 2002. His daughter is a former member of the Lady Illini Cross Country and Track & Field varsity team and was awarded the 2018 BiG10 Medal of Honor. Prof. Choquette is interested to support and enhance the academic resources available to Illini student/athletes, as well as to sustain the support for athlete nutrition, meals, and learning life skills. Prof. Choquette values the opportunity to give back to UI to ensure the success of Illini athletes in the classroom and Big10 competition.

Steven Hall (Senior Lecturer, MDA)

Steve Hall, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Advertising, has extensive experience regarding athletics as current Athletic Board Chair, Public Affairs Committee Chair and Student Services Committee member. Senate membership includes Senate Executive Committee, Public Engagement Committee and Admissions Committee. A commitment to teaching, service, leadership and industry impact are evidenced by his University of Illinois Campus-wide Excellence in Teaching Award, UI Charles Sandage Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, American Advertising Federation's National Distinguished Educator Award, Barton Cummings National Gold Medal Service Award and National Mosaic Award for Contributions to Diversity and Multiculturalism. UI and professional affiliations relevant to student athletes include the Teaching Advancement Board, Career Services Council Chair, Illinois Leadership, Student Conduct Subcommittee, AAF National Education Executive Committee and National Advertising Review Board Chair. Hall is an alumnus of Gies Business, College of Media, and lifelong Illini varsity athletics supporter who loves both orange and blue.