UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.23.10 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part B – Senate Committees; Part D.1.d – Senate Executive Committee; Part D.8.e – Committee on Educational Policy; and Part D.19 – Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Chair Compensation)

BACKGROUND

Current compensation provisions in the *Bylaws* for the Chairs of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) and the Senate Committee on Educational Policy (EP) is limited to release from other academic duties for one-half time. Since these provisions were originally added to the *Bylaws*, agreements have included additional components: discretionary funds, partial summer salary, and at least one course buyout per academic year.

The proposed revisions would codify current practices and extend the same compensation to the chair of the Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures, a role that comes with a significant workload beyond committee meetings. In addition, these revisions would clarify which parties should agree on the compensation and which specific chairs receive compensation in a memorandum of understanding.

RECOMMENDATION

3

4

5

6

7

8

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is struck through and text to be added is underlined. Adoption of amendments to the *Bylaws* requires a two-thirds vote of the Senate.

REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PARTS B AND D

- 1 BYLAWS, PART B.4 SENATE COMMITTEES
- 2 Insert the following as a new #4 and renumber the remainder of the section.
 - 4. Compensation for chairs of standing Senate committees.
 - a. The Senate Executive Committee and the Office of the Provost shall approve, and the Bylaws shall specify, which chairs of standing Senate committees shall be compensated for their chair duties. A memorandum of understanding, approved by the Senate Executive Committee and the Office of the Provost and updated at least every five years, shall outline the compensation for each chair.

_			_	_
10	D	D D 1 -	- Senate Executiv	- ^
111	RVINING	PARILL IN-	- > FNIATE FXF(1111)/	- (()КЛКЛІІ І
TO	DILAVVJ.	1 411 0.1.0	JUNAIL EALCOIN	L COIVIIVII I LL

- 11 d. The officers and members of the Senate Executive Committee shall be elected for terms of
- 12 one year. The Chair shall be released from other academic duties for one-half time, with this
- 13 appointment funded from campus resources. The chair shall be compensated as specified in
- 14 Bylaws, Part B.4.

15

- 16 BYLAWS, PART D.8.E COMMITTEE ON EDUCATIONAL POLICY
- 17 e. Committee Chair
- 18 The Chair shall be released from other academic duties for one half time, with this
- 19 appointment funded from campus resources. The chair shall be compensated as specified in
- 20 Bylaws, Part B.4.

21

- 22 BYLAWS, PART D.19 COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES
- 23 c. Committee Chair
- The chair shall be compensated as specified in *Bylaws*, Part B.4.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
David Dalpiaz, Chair
Hunter Farnham
H. George Friedman
Shawn Gilmore
Michael Grossman
William Maher
Megan Pickens
Lindsey Stirek
Kelli Trei
Laura Czys, ex officio
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio