UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Information)

SC.25.04 Report of Actions Taken on Behalf of the Senate by the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) at its May 13, 2024 Meeting

The 2024-2025 Senate held an Elections and Organizational meeting on April 29, 2024. With a loss of quorum, the meeting was adjourned and reconvened on May 6, 2024 in accordance with *Standing Rule* 1. However, a quorum was never reached at the May 6 meeting which left business unfinished. In accordance with *Bylaws* Part D.1.e, "...the Senate Executive Committee is authorized to act for and on behalf of the Senate on urgent matters..."; therefore, SEC acted on behalf of the Senate on the following unfinished business of the April 29 and May 6, 2024 meetings of the 2024-2025 Senate.

1. CC.25.06, Election of Members to the 2024-2025 Standing Committees of the Senate

a) Senate Committee on Information Technology Run-off Election

Dalpiaz made a motion to approve the slate of nominees as presented by the Senate Committee on Committees – Masooda Bashir (SIS), Jennifer Cromley (EDUC), Andrew Dahle (BUS), and Amy Fry (LIBR), and not include the floor nomination of Christopher Lueg (SIS) from the April 29, 2024 Senate Elections and Organizational meeting. The motion was seconded, and discussion followed. The motion failed with 3 in favor and 7 opposed.

SEC proceeded to vote on each nominee. Without objection, Bashir, Cromley, Dahle, and Fry were elected to fill the four faculty vacancies on IT.

b) The following committee vacancies were also approved without objection.

- Campus Operations Sheena Martenies to fill one faculty vacancy.
- General University Policy Kyle Hironimus to fill one student vacancy.
- Library Elle Wroblewski to fill one faculty vacancy and Benny Lum to fill one student vacancy.
- University Student Life Jae'da Thompson to fill one student vacancy.
- 2. CC.25.07, Election of Committee Chairs to the 2024-2025 Standing Committees of the Senate Without objection, CC.25.07 was approved by unanimous consent. As nominees, Chatterton, Dalpiaz, Lyons, and N. Miller abstained from the vote. The following individuals were elected to serve as chairs of the indicated Senate committees for 2024-2025.

Budget - Peter Silhan

Campus Operations – James Brennan

Council on Student Conduct Expectations and Accountability – Christopher Schmitz

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion – Yvette Johnson-Walker

Educational Policy – Nolan Miller

Elections and Credentials – Angel Chatterton

Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits – Angela Lyons

General University Policy – Joanne Kaczmarek

Honorary Degrees - Prasanta Kalita

Information Technology – James Quisenberry

Library – Ralph Mathisen

Public Engagement and Outreach – Steve Hall

Research Policy – Jennifer Bernhard

Student Discipline – Darin Eastburn

University Statutes and Senate Procedures – David Dalpiaz

University Student Life – Rummana Alam

3. CC.25.08, Election of Committee Chairs to the 2024-2025 Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

Faculty members Steve Hall (Public Engagement and Outreach) and Ralph Mathisen (Library) were elected by unanimous consent to serve on the 2024-2025 SEC.

4. CC.25.09, Faculty Nominations to the 2024-2025 Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights

Shawn Gilmore (LAS) and Pia Hunter (LAW) were approved by unanimous consent as faculty nominees to the Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights. Nominations will be forwarded to the Chancellor for selection of two faculty members to serve.

5. CC.25.10, Student Nominations to the 2024-2025 Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights

Faith Onuchukwu (GRAD), Milosh Sasic (ENGR), and Kayvon Tahmassebi (LAS) were approved by unanimous consent as the student nominees to the Joint Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights. Nominations will be forwarded to the Chancellor for selection of three student members to serve.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Jon Hale, Chair
Angela Lyons, Vice-Chair
Maya Crystal
David Dalpiaz
Hunter Farnham
Steve Hall
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins
Yvette Johnson-Walker
Joanne Kaczmarek

Eric Kurt
Ralph Mathisen
Gay Miller
Nolan Miller
Wesam Mohamed
Sean Murphy
James Quisenberry
Chaya Sandler
H. George Friedman, Jr., ex officio
Robert Jones, ex officio