UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.23.03 Election of Members to the 2022-2023 Senate Committee on University Senates Conference (USC)

BACKGROUND

The University Senates Conference is a System-wide body established by the *Statutes* and composed of a total of twenty representatives from the several university senates. The number of representatives from each senate is specified in the *Statutes* [Article II, Section 2. a. (1)]. The representatives are elected by their respective senates for three-year terms beginning on the first day of the academic year following their election and must be faculty senators at the time their committee term begins. As close to one-third as possible of the representatives from each senate are elected each year. Representatives from the Urbana-Champaign Senate may serve no more than two full terms consecutively. (*Bylaws* Part D.18)

The Senate Committee on the University Senates Conference shall keep the Senate informed concerning matters before the Conference and represent the interests of the Senate in the Conference. One member of the Committee on University Senates Conference shall be elected to the Senate Executive Committee, as prescribed in *Bylaw* D, 1 (b).

Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring.

2022		2023		2024	
Roy Campbell	ENGR	Prasanta Kalita	ACES	Sara Benson	LIBR
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA	William Maher	LIBR	Nicholas Burbules	EDUC
Rob Kar	LAW	Joyce Tolliver	LAS	John Dallesasse	ENGR
		Helga Varden	LAS		

NOMINATIONS

The Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senators for a three-year term on the Senate Committee on University Senates Conference (USC), expiring in **2025**. Statements of interest are included.

Roy Campbell ENGR
Jeffrey Eric Jenkins FAA
Carol Skalnik Leff LAS

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Chaya Sandler, Chair Cindy Ingold Prasanta Kalita

John Dallesasse Hadiya Jagroop Ari Kelo

Virginia Dominguez Jeffrey Eric Jenkins Jenny Roether, ex officio

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice. All nominations must be in accordance with Senate Bylaws.

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST

Roy Campbell (ENGR)

Dr. Roy H. Campbell is the Sohaib and Sara Abbasi Professor Emeritus of Computer Science. He has served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Senate, Chair of Senate IT, and as a member of the Presidential Search Committee, the Senate, Senate Executive Committee, GUP, Committee of Committees, and the University Senates Conference, the USC Executive Committee. He maintains a strong interest in shared governance in higher education on campus and the University of Illinois System.

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (FAA)

Jeffrey Eric Jenkins is a Professor of Theatre Studies who teaches dramatic literature, theatre historiography, theory, and criticism. He is a faculty affiliate of Discovery Partners Institute and a member of DPI's Executive Committee. A former Head of the Department of Theatre at Illinois and former Director of Theatre Studies at New York University, Dr. Jenkins is the author and editor of nine books and scores of articles. He is a faculty senator and has served on such committees as Elections and Credentials, the Committee on Committees, the University Senates Conference, and the university's Faculty Advisory Committee. Dr. Jenkins is a frequent keynote speaker at international conferences on free expression, populism, and the performing arts. He writes theatre criticism for The News-Gazette and serves as executive editor of Critical Stages/Scènes critiques, a bilingual journal on international performance. Dr. Jenkins was elected President of the 3,000-member International Association of Theatre Critics in 2021, and he is a member or chair of various boards and committees for the American Theatre Wing, the Tony Awards, and the Henry Hewes Design Awards. Dr. Jenkins is committed to the principles of shared governance and to growing diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout the university and the system. He hopes to continue to bring these values to service with the University Senates Conference.

Carol Skalnik Leff (LAS)

Carol Skalnik Leff is associate professor emerita of the Political Science Department specializing in European and post-communist politics, affiliated with the EU Center, the Russian East European and Eurasian Center, and ACDIS. She has previously served on the University Senates conference, elected to two terms ending in 2015. She is currently President of the Champaign County ACLU.