UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.22.05 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.20.b – Committee on University Student Life

BACKGROUND

The revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part D.20 (SP.21.03) that were approved by the Senate on April 5, 2021 specified that one student member shall be an international student nominated by the Office of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Based on discussions with ISSS, it was suggested that the Office of Inclusion and Intercultural Relations is a better office to nominate an international student to serve on the Senate Committee on University Student Life.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is struck through and text to be added is underlined. Adoption of amendments to the *Bylaws* requires a two-thirds vote of the Senate.

REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.20 - Committee on University Student Life

1	b. Membership
2	The Committee shall consist of:
3	1. Four faculty members, of whom one shall be elected as Chair by the Senate;
4	2. One academic professional member;
5	3. Five student members, who shall elect one of their number to serve as Vice
6	Chair; one student member shall be an international student, who shall be
7	nominated by the office of International Student and Scholar Services Office
8	of Inclusion and Intercultural Relations to the Committee on Committees;
9	4. Depending on the structure of the student government, the elected head of
10	the student body or designee, or the elected head of the undergraduate
11	student body and the elected head of the graduate student body or
12	designees (ex officio);
13	5. The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or the Vice Chancellor's designee (ex
14	officio);

15	6. The Dean of Students or the Dean's designee (ex officio);
16	7. A member of the Council of Undergraduate Deans (<i>ex officio</i>), selected by
17	that committee the council;
18	8. The Provost or the Provost's designee (ex officio);
19	9. The Dean of the Graduate College or the Dean's designee (ex officio);
20	10. The Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion or the Vice
21	Chancellor's designee (ex officio);
22	11. The Director of International Student and Scholar Services or the Director's
23	designee (ex officio); and
24	12. Such other ex officio members from among the administrative officers of the
25	campus as the voting members of the committee shall recommend and the
26	Senate shall approve.
27	

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
Walter Deering
H. George Friedman
Michael Grossman
Rob Klein
William Maher
Collin Ruud
Joyce Tolliver
Kelli Trei
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Sharon Reynolds, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio