SL.22.05 April 25, 2022

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STUDENT LIFE (Final; Information)

SL.22.05 2021-2022 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on University Student Life

This report summarizes the activities of the Senate Committee on University Student Life (SL) during the 2021-2022 academic year. SL met on August 27, September 17, October 15, November 17, December 3, January 28, February 25, March 11, and April 8. More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

I. ITEMS UNDER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE

SL.22.01, Draft Expressive Activity on Campus Policy

The committee reviewed the draft Expressive Activity on Campus Policy and provided feedback to the policy sponsors.

SL.22.02, Revision to the *Bylaws,* **Part D - Committee on University Student Life – Part b.3.** The committee revised its *Bylaws* regarding student membership.

SL.22.03, Resolution on Fall Break for University Students

The committee drafted a resolution to have a fall break in October for the students. This resolution was forwarded to the Senate Committee on Educational Policy for review.

SL.22.04, Presentation by Kathy Martensen, Student Success Initiative

Martensen shared updates on the Student Success Initiative with SL. Toward the goals of increasing access, eliminating equity gaps, and improving the Illinois experience, the initiative's work during this academic year has primarily been through implementation teams and working groups. February 4, 2022 was the inaugural Student Success Symposium. Martensen shared that more information about the initiative can be found at: https://publish.illinois.edu/studentsuccess

UNIVERSITY STUDENT LIFE

Rummana Alam, Chair

Kent Choquette
Caitlin Clark
Tim Flanagin

Charles Fogelman

Kush Gupta Sarah Hatlestad Nattapon Jaroenchai

Erin Motley

Brenda Recka

Gioconda Guerra Perez, ex officio

Dana Johnson, *ex officio* Kathy Martensen, *ex officio* Scarlett Briones, *ex officio*

Megan Tucker Zwilling, ex officio Danita Brown Young, ex officio

Stephen Bryan, ex officio Enoma Egiebor, ex officio