**HD.22.04** April 25, 2022

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (Final; Information)

HD.22.04 2021-2022 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees

This report summarized the activities of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees (HD) during the 2021-2022 academic year. HD met on September 7 and February 1. More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

The following nominations were approved by the committee and the Board of Trustees during the 2019-2020 academic year and will be recognized at the May 2022 Commencement ceremony:

- Lonnie Bunch, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
- James Delany, Commissioner of the Big Ten Conference
- Jill Ellis, Development Director of the United States Soccer Federation
- John Lewis, U. S. Representative, Georgia's 5<sup>th</sup> Congressional District (posthumously)
- Mario Molina, Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at University of California (*posthumously*)
- Rahul Pandharipande, Professor of Mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich

## I. ITEMS UNDER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE

HD.14.05, Nomination by the College of Media

HD.16.03, Nomination by the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition

HD.17.02, Nomination by the College of Business

HD.17.03, Nomination by the Department of History

HD.22.01, Nomination by the College of Education

HD.22.02, Nomination by the Grainger College of Engineering

HD.22.03, Nomination by the Carle Illinois College of Medicine and the Grainger College of Engineering

Honorary Degrees Prasanta Kalita, Chair Paul Davidson Haven Elliott Harry Hilton

Krista Keller Pollyanna Rhee Matthew Tansy Laura Wilhelm-Barr, *ex officio*