September 20, 2021

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (Final; Information)

HD.21.01 2020-2021 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees did not meet during the 2020-2021 academic year. The following nominations were approved by the committee and the Board of Trustees during the 2019-2020 academic year and will be recognized at a future Commencement ceremony:

- Lonnie Bunch, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
- James Delany, Commissioner of the Big Ten Conference
- Jill Ellis, Development Director of the United States Soccer Federation
- John Lewis, U. S. Representative, Georgia's 5th Congressional District (*posthumously*)
- Mario Molina, Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at University of California (posthumously)
- Rahul Pandharipande, Professor of Mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich

HONORARY DEGREES
Prasanta Kalita, Chair
Arnoldo Ayala
Larry Fahnestock
Susan Koerner
Harry Hilton
Terri Weissman
Dana Yun
Laura Wilhelm-Barr, ex officio