### UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Final; Action)

SC.22.01 Election of Faculty Members to the 2021-2022 Committee on Committees

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members with terms expiring 2022 are as follows:

John Dallesasse ENGR Jeffrey Eric Jenkins FAA

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a 150 words or less statement of interest. Nominees must be faculty senators at the time the committee term begins.

#### **NOMINATIONS**

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) nominates the following faculty senators to serve a twoyear term ending 2023. Statements of interest are included. Each voter may vote for up to three nominees. The three nominees with the highest number of votes will be declared elected, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Sara Benson	LIBR	Prasanta Kalita	ACES
Virginia R. Dominguez	LAS	Rui Loja-Fernandes	LAS
Cindy Ingold	LIBR	Angharad Valdivia	MDA

All nominations submitted from the Senate floor must include 1) Nominee's name, 2) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3) a 150 words or less statement of interest and experience. Nominees must be senators at the time the term begins. Nominations from the floor can be presented solely in written form, in the same manner as the slate brought forward by SEC.

### **SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Rob Kar, Chair Nicholas Burbules Pia Hunter Helga Varden John Dallesasse, Ben Crane Gay Miller Dana Yun

Vice-Chair Adrienne Dixson Linda Moorhouse Robert Jones, ex officio

Mike Bohlmann Shawn Gilmore Chaya Sandler Brian Brauer Kim Graber Sofia Sinnokrot

# STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

## Sara Benson (LIBR)

Sara R. Benson is an Assistant Professor and Copyright Librarian in the University Library. Prior to that, she was a Lecturer at the College of Law for ten years. Sara has served in a variety of roles with the Senate in her many years at the University of Illinois including, as an elected member of the Chancellor Search Committee, as an elected member on the Senate Executive Committee, as an elected member of the Committee on Committees, as a co-Parliamentarian, as Chair of the Conference on Student Conduct, as Co-Chair of the Taskforce for Classroom Material Costs and more. Sara takes her service obligations seriously and is an active member of the Senate. Sara is going up for tenure this coming academic year as a member of the University Library faculty.

# Virginia R. Dominguez (LAS)

Virginia R. Dominguez (B.A., MPhil, and Ph.D. Yale) is the Gutgsell Professor of Anthropology (and member of the Jewish Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Global Studies, and Caribbean Studies faculty) at UIUC. She is also Co-Founder and Consulting Director of the International Forum for U.S. Studies (and Co-Editor of its book series, Global Studies of the United States). A political and legal anthropologist, she was president of the American Anthropological Association (2009 to 2011), editor of American Ethnologist (2002 to 2007), and Associate Editor of the American Anthropologist for World Anthropologies (2014 to 2021). Before joining the UIUC faculty in 2007, she taught at Duke, UC-Santa Cruz, and the University of Iowa, and held visiting positions in Paris, Manchester, Cape Town, Rochester, Honolulu, Jerusalem, and Harvard. She has been Interim Head of the UIUC Anthropology Department, now serves on the LAS Nominations Committee, and has served on several LAS special committees.

# **Cindy Ingold (LIBR)**

Cindy Ingold is Gender Studies and Multicultural Services Librarian and Associate Professor in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. She serves as departmental liaison to the Asian American Studies and Gender and Women's Studies Departments, and to the American Indian Studies and Women and Gender in Global Perspectives Programs. She also provides outreach and services to several cultural and resource centers on campus. She is an active member of the American Library Association and the National Women's Studies Association. Within the Library, Cindy has served as co-chair of the Library Diversity Committee for many years. She is also a member of campus diversity committees and the Faculty Senate.

## Prasanta Kalita (ACES)

Dr. Prasanta K. Kalita is a Professor and Leader of Soil & Water Resources Engineering program of the Agricultural & Biological Engineering Department. He is the Director of the Appropriate Scale Mechanization Consortium and Faculty Affiliate of the Discovery Partners Institute. Currently he serves as the chair of the Honorary Degrees and a member of the Student Life Committees of the Senate. Previously, he served on the Senate Educational Policy Committee, chaired the Campus Committee on Race and Ethnicity, chaired the Committee on Committees, co-chaired the Teaching Advancement Board, chaired the Engineering Grievance Committee, and chaired many committees in both colleges of ACES and GCOE. He is a University of Illinois Distinguished Teacher Scholar and received the 2007 Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. He served as Editor-in-Chief and Associate Editor of 3 international journals. Dr. Kalita is a Fellow of the American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers.

## Rui Loja-Fernandes (LAS)

Rui L. Fernandes is the Lois M. Lackner Professor in the Department of Mathematics. He received his undergraduate degree from Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal, and his master's and doctorate degrees from the University of Minnesota. His research interests include Differential geometry, Poisson geometry, integrable systems and Lie theory. He is the author of more than 40 research papers in peer-reviewed journals and 2 monographs, and he has supervised 6 PhD students. He is a fellow of the American Mathematical Society, and he has served in the Executive Committee of the European Mathematical Society and as the head of the Department of Mathematics, of Instituto Superior Técnico.

### Angharad Valdivia (MDA)

Angharad N. Valdivia is Research Professor at the Institute of Communications Research. She received undergraduate degrees in Communications and History at the University of California San Diego and her doctorate at the Institute of Communications Research at the University of Illinois. Her research interests include Media Studies, International and Transnational Communication Studies, Gender and Ethnic Studies, and Girls Studies. She is a Senator and member of the Vice-Chancellor for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee - Faculty/Staff Recruitment, Retention and Promotion Sub-Group. She was the Inaugural Head of the Media and Cinema Studies Department and Director of the Institute of Communications Research. She is a Fellow of the International Communication Association and a Distinguished Scholar in the Critical/ Cultural Studies Division of the National Communication Association. She has written several books and served as editor of *Communication Theory* and the *International Encyclopedia of Media Studies*.