## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.20.17 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part A – Meetings (Presiding at Senate Meetings)

## **BACKGROUND**

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) requested that the Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (SP) discuss the most appropriate person to preside over Senate meetings based on Recommendation #3 of the Eighth Senate Review Commission Report (XSR.19.01).

The Senate Committee on General University Policy (GP) discussed the most appropriate person to preside over Senate meetings. GP recommended the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee or the Chair's designee serve as the presiding officer for the business portion of the Senate meeting. This would more easily allow the Chancellor to be a participant in debates.

## RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends that the Senate approve the following amendment to the *Bylaws*, Part A. Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is <u>struck through</u>.

## PROPOSED REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART A – Meetings

- 1 1. The Chair of the Senate Executive Committee or the Chair's designee shall preside at Senate
- 2 meetings. The Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee shall be invited to preside at Senate
- 3 meetings give remarks and respond to questions from senators, unless the Senate Executive
- 4 <u>Committee has provided otherwise</u>.

5

6 6.g. The organizational meeting shall be supervised by the Senate Executive Committee, and

- 7 ‡The incumbent Chair of the Senate Executive Committee or the Chair's designee shall preside.
- 8 The Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee shall be invited to preside give remarks, unless the
- 9 Senate Executive Committee has provided otherwise.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Michael Grossman
William Maher
Owen Skelding
Joyce Tolliver
Kelli Trei
Brent West
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Sharon Reynolds, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio