SP.19.11 February 4, 2019

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.19.11 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.19 – Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (membership)

BACKGROUND

In the recent past, the Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (SP) had difficulty reaching quorum at several meetings. It is critical that the SP committee be able to take final action on its proposals, but without a quorum present no final action can be taken by the committee. It would be detrimental to the Senate as a whole if the SP committee is unable to take final action and send proposals to the Senate.

Increasing the total committee membership from eight members to nine would allow the committee a better opportunity to meet quorum. Quorum for the SP committee is currently five members and would remain five members with the proposed addition of one faculty member.

It was also recommended to add a designee from the Office of the Provost as an *ex officio* member to address questions of academic policy and communication that involves the Office of the Provost. The Provost supports the addition of an *ex officio* designee from the Office of the Provost to the committee membership.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends that the Senate approve the following amendment to *Bylaws* Part D.19. Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is <u>struck through</u>.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO *BYLAWS* PART D.19 – Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures

- 19. Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures
- a. Membership

1

- The Committee shall consist of:
- 4 1. Five Six faculty members,
- 5 2. One academic professional member,
- 6 3. Two students,

- 7 4. One designee of the Chancellor (*ex officio*), and
- 8 5. One designee of the Provost (ex officio), and
- 9 <u>56</u>. The Clerk of the Senate or the Clerk's designee (*ex officio*).

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Saanil Joshi
William Maher
Dorothee Schneider
Jeffrey Stein
Jessica Mette, ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, ex officio