HD.20.13 April 27, 2020

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (Final; Information)

HD.20.13 2019-2020 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees

This report summarizes the activities of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees (HD) during the 2019-2020 academic year. HD met on September 19, November 5, November 25, January 21, and February 24. More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

I. ITEMS APPROVED BY SENATE

HD.20.06, Nominations for Honorary Degree Awards – Delany, Molina, Pandharipande The nominations for James Delany (HD.20.05), Mario Molina (HD.20.04), and Rahul Pandharipande (HD.20.01) were presented to the Senate and approved on December 9, 2019.

HD.20.01, Nomination by the Departments of Mathematics and PhysicsHD considered a nomination for Rahul Pandharipande, Professor of Mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, by the Departments of Mathematics and Physics. The nomination was approved by the Senate on December 9, 2019 via HD.20.06.

HD.20.04, Nomination by the Division of Nutritional Sciences, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, and College of ACES Office of International ProgramsHD considered a nomination for Mario Molina, Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at University of California, by the Division of Nutritional Sciences, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, and College of ACES Office of International Programs. The nomination was approved by the Senate on December 9, 2019 via HD.20.06.

HD.20.05, Nomination by the Department of Animal Sciences, Gies College of Business, and Division of Intercollegiate Athletics

HD considered a nomination for James Delany, Commissioner of the Big Ten Conference, by the Department of Animal Sciences, Gies College of Business, and Division of Intercollegiate Athletics. The nomination was approved by the Senate on December 9, 2019 via HD.20.06.

HD.20.10, Nominations for Honorary Degree Awards – Bunch, Ellis

The nominations for Lonnie Bunch (HD.20.03) and Jill Ellis (HD.20.08) were presented to the Senate and approved on February 10, 2020.

HD.20.03, Nomination by the Department of African American Studies and the Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities

HD considered a nomination for Lonnie Bunch, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, by the Department of African American Studies and the Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities. The nomination was approved by the Senate on February 10, 2020 via HD.20.10.

HD.20.08, Nomination by the Department of English

HD considered a nomination for Jill Ellis, Development Director of the United States Soccer Federation, by the Department of English. The nomination was approved by the Senate on February 10, 2020 via HD.20.10.

HD.20.12, Nomination for Honorary Degree Award – Lewis

The nomination for John Lewis (HD.20.11) was presented to the Senate and approved on March 9, 2020.

HD.20.11, Nomination by the College of Education

HD considered a nomination for John Lewis, U.S. Representative, Georgia's 5th Congressional District, by the College of Education. The nomination was approved by the Senate on March 9, 2020 via HD.20.12.

II. ITEMS REMOVED FROM THE AGENDA

HD.20.02, Review of the Bylaws, Part D.13 - Committee on Honorary Degrees

Responding to a charge from the Senate Executive Committee, HD reviewed its charge and composition as provided in the *Bylaws*, Part D.13. HD recommended the addition of a designee of the Chancellor as an *ex officio* member. The revision to the *Bylaws* was approved by the Senate on February 10, 2020 via SP.20.21 (Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.13 – Committee on Honorary Degrees).

HD.20.07, Nomination by the Department of Chemistry

A nomination for Rudy Marcus, John G. Kirkwood and Arthur A. Noyes Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology was received from the Department of Chemistry. Dr. Marcus was the recipient of an honorary degree award at the 1997 commencement ceremony so was not eligible for further consideration.

III. ITEMS UNDER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE

HD.14.05. Nomination by the College of Media

HD.16.03, Nomination by the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition

HD.17.02, Nomination by the College of Business

HD.17.03, Nomination by the Department of History

HD.20.09, Nomination by the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering

HONORARY DEGREES
Matthew Wheeler, Chair
Fred Johnson Asiimwe
Larry Fahnestock
Ane Icardo Isasa
Prasanta Kalita
Susan Koerner
Laura Wilhelm-Barr, ex officio