UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.20.13 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.8 – Committee on Educational Policy (membership)

BACKGROUND

Up until 2014, a designee of the Office of Online and Continuing Education served as the person in the role of Director of the Office of Continuing Education's designee (*ex officio*) on the Senate Committee on Educational Policy (EP). In 2014, the Office of Online and Continuing Education became part of a new unit called the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning (CITL). At this point, the current Director of CITL began attending EP meetings.

With the evolution and reorganization that occurred over time, new language is suggested to codify the current practice of the Director of CITL filling the *ex officio* role currently listed in the *Bylaws* as the Director of the Office of Continuing Education.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is struck through and text to be added is underlined. Adoption of amendments to the *Bylaws* requires a two-thirds vote of the Senate.

REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.8 – Committee on Educational Policy

1 b. Membership

8

- 2 The Committee shall consist of:
- 3 1. Thirteen faculty members,
- 4 2. One academic professional member,
- 5 3. Five students members, of whom at least one shall be a graduate student, at least two shall be undergraduate students, and no more than one shall be a professional student,
 - 4. The Provost or the Provost's designee (ex officio),
- 5. The Associate Provost for Enrollment Management or the Associate Provost's designee (ex officio),
- 11 6. The Executive Director of the Council on Teacher Education or the <u>Executive</u> Director's designee (*ex officio*),
- 7. A member of the Council of Undergraduate Deans (*ex officio*), selected by that committee,

15	8.	The Dean of the Graduate College or the Dean's designee (ex officio), and
16	9.	The Director of the Office of Continuing Education Center for Innovation in Teaching

and Learning or the Director's designee (ex officio).

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Matthew Goodman
Michael Grossman
Samantha Lenoch
William Maher
Jeffrey Stein
Kelli Trei
Brent West
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Sharon Reynolds, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio

17 18