November 12, 2018 UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.19.12 Nominations for Membership to the Research Policy Committee

BACKGROUND

The Research Policy Committee advises the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR), and the Senate on matters of research policy. The Committee should have no fewer than ten members and no more than fifteen members, and the VCR appoints all members of the committee, typically for two year terms. The Committee has a faculty chair selected in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee. At least eight members of the Committee shall be faculty chosen from nominations provided by the Senate Committee on Committees, submitted to the full Senate for approval and subsequent transmittal of the nominees to the VCR. The other members shall be appointed by the VCR and may include students and academic professionals. Continuing faculty members of the Research Policy Committee are as follows:

| Gabrielle Allen | EDUC | 2019 |
|-------------------|------|------|
| Matthew Ando | LAS | 2019 |
| Jennifer Bernhard | ENGR | 2019 |
| Martin Camargo | LAS | 2019 |
| Madhu Khanna | ACES | 2019 |
| Jeffrey Woods | AHS | 2019 |

NOMINATIONS

Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill four annual faculty vacancies with terms ending 2020. If no additional nominations are made, the nominees below will be forwarded to the VCR for selection of four faculty members.

| Gabriel Solis | FAA |
|-----------------|------|
| Nicole Allen | LAS |
| German Bollero | ACES |
| John C. Hart | ENGR |
| Silvina Montrul | LAS |

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Nancy O'Brien, Chair Roy Campbell Joseph Edwards Tim Flanagin Lilya Kaganovsky Mrinaal Mittal Jennifer Monson Deniz Namik Christopher Span Jenny Roether, ex officio

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.