UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.19.02 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part B.3 – Senate Committees (committee chairs)

BACKGROUND

This proposal confirms the historical practice that committee chairs be selected from among the elected members of committees.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part B.3. Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is struck through.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART B.3

Part B – Senate Committees

2

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

1

- 1. The Senate shall have an executive council, called the Senate Executive Committee, and such standing and *ad hoc* committees, with such duties and membership, as the Senate shall determine.
- 2. The committees of the Senate shall identify those issues embodying substantive policy questions and present them in writing, with committee recommendations, to the Senate for consideration, in accordance with the procedure of Bylaw A-3.
- 3. Committee members, and chairs of committees other than the Committee on Committees, shall be elected by the Senate. Committee chairs must be elected members of their committees.
- 4. *Ex officio* committee members shall not have voting privileges except where otherwise expressly provided herein.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Donald Hackmann
Saanil Joshi
William Maher
Dorothee Schneider
Nicholas Sheperd
Jeffrey Stein
Jessica Mette, Ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, Ex officio