UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.18.16 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.1 – Senate Executive Committee

BACKGROUND

The proposed change to the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) membership would not allow SEC members to hold more than one seat on SEC at any given time. Quorum is based on the number of voting seats on a committee rather than the number of members filling seats. Vacancies and members holding more than one voting seat can adversely affect the committee's ability to meet quorum requirements. Thus, the proposed change would require any SEC member holding more than one seat to designate a replacement or replacements for all but one of their seats, who would then serve for the remainder of the academic year.

An additional proposed change is to the election method for the three at-large seats on SEC that would allow for one vote rather than a two-step vote if there are five or fewer committee chairs willing to serve. This would prevent a situation where, if only five or fewer committee chairs are willing to serve on the SEC, the Senate would vote twice on the same ballot.

RECOMMENDATION

1

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends that the Senate approve the following amendment to the *Bylaws*, Part D.1. Text to be added is underscored and text to be deleted is struck through.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS PART D.1 - Senate Executive Committee

2	1. Senate Executive Committee		
3	b. Membership		
4	1. The Senate Executive Committee shall be composed of 16 members consisting of:		
5 6 7	a.	a Chair and a Vice-Chair, elected by ballot by and from among the membership of the Senate, who shall be the presiding officers of the Senate Executive Committee,	
8	b.	the Chair of the Committee on Committees,	
9	c.	the Chair of the Educational Policy Committee,	
10	d.	the Chair of the General University Policy Committee,	
11	e.	the Chair of the Information Technology Committee,	
12	f.	the Chair of the University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee,	
13 14	g.	three members elected by the Senate from a slate consisting of all remaining committee chairs willing to serve, with a runoff among the five candidates	
15 16		receiving the most votes, <u>if there are more than five candidates</u> , and additional candidates if tied for fifth place,	

17 18 19	h.	three students, including at least one undergraduate and at least one graduate or professional student, all of whom shall be elected by and from among the student senators,
20 21	i.	one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference, elected by the Senate to serve on the Executive Committee,
22 23	j.	the campus faculty member of the Faculty Advisory Council to the Board of Higher Education ex officio with vote, and
24 25	k.	the Chair of the committee which performs the statutory function of the Professional Advisory Committee or the Chair's designee ex officio with vote.
26 27	'	person shall hold more than one seat on the Senate Executive Committee concurrently event that a person qualifies for more than one seat concurrently, that person shall
28	·	nate a replacement from the Senate electorate for each but one of the seats. If the sea

29

3031

32

2. No person shall hold more than one seat on the Senate Executive Committee concurrently. In the event that a person qualifies for more than one seat concurrently, that person shall designate a replacement from the Senate electorate for each but one of the seats. If the seat being substituted for is a committee chair, the replacement shall be an elected member of that committee. All replacements shall be full members of the Senate Executive Committee in their own right. Replacement representatives to the Senate Executive Committee under this provision shall remain seated until the end of the academic year.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Donald Hackmann
Saanil Joshi
William Maher
Dorothee Schneider
Nicholas Sheperd
Jeffrey Stein
Jessica Mette, Ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, Ex officio