UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.18.21 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.18 – Committee on University Senates Conference

BACKGROUND

Members of the Committee on University Senates Conference have historically been senators at the time their committee term begins. While the Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (SP) finds this practice wholly compliant with both the wording and intent of the relevant *Bylaws*, Part D.18, SP recommends that language be inserted to codify the practice explicitly.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part D.18. Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is <u>struck through</u>.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.18

Part D – Standing Committees

1	18. Committee on University Senates Conference
2	·
3	The University Senates Conference is a University-wide body established by the <i>University</i>
4	Statutes and composed of a total of twenty representatives from the several campus senates.
5	The number of representatives from each senate is specified in the Statutes. The
6	representatives are elected by their respective senates for three-year terms beginning on the
7	first day of the academic year following their election, and must be faculty members or
8	members elect of their senates at the time of their election senators at the time their
9	committee term begins. As close to one-third as possible of the representatives from each
10	senate are elected each year. Representatives from the Urbana-Champaign Senate may serve
11	no more than two full terms consecutively.
10	a Duties

a. Duties

13

14

15

16

17

- 1. The Senate Committee on the University Senates Conference shall keep the Senate informed concerning matters before the Conference and represent the interests of the Senate in the Conference.
 - 2. One member of the Committee on University Senates Conference shall be elected to the Senate Executive Committee, as prescribed in Bylaw D, 1 (b).
- b. Membership
- 19 The Senate Committee shall consist of the Conference members from this campus.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
H. George Friedman
Donald Hackmann
Saanil Joshi
William Maher
Dorothee Schneider
Nicholas Sheperd
Jeffrey Stein
Jessica Mette, Ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, Ex officio