UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Senate Executive Committee

(Final; Action)

SC.19.05 Election of a Faculty Member to the Committee on Committees

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall consist of five senators who are members of the faculty electorate at the time of election, with no two from the same college, school, institute, or similar unit.

Continuing faculty members of the Committee on Committees and expiration of their terms are as follows:

Roy Campbell	ENGR	2019
Jennifer Monson	FAA	2020
Nancy O'Brien	LIBR	2019
Christopher Span	EDUC	2020

Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by faculty senators. Each nomination shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee and a short biographical sketch. Nominees must be senators at the time the committee term begins.

NOMINATIONS

The following faculty members (statements of interest and experience attached) are nominated to fill one faculty vacancy created by the resignation of Joyce Tolliver (LAS) 2019. The person with the highest number of votes will be declared elected.

Lilya Kaganovsky	LAS
Christy Lleras	ACES

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Bettina Francis, Chair Sara Benson Nicholas Burbules John Dallesasse Joseph Edwards Shawn Gilmore Richard Gonigam Amy Hovious Gay Miller Scott Morris Nancy O'Brien Vikram Sardana Mark Steinberg Joyce Tolliver

Nominations from the floor must be from the current Senate membership and must include the nominee's willingness to serve along with a short biographical sketch. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

FACULTY STATEMENTS OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

CHRISTY LLERAS (Associate Professor: ACES, Human Development and Family Studies)

Christy Lleras is an associate professor in the department of Human Development and Family Studies, current affiliate of the Family Resiliency Center (2007-), faculty fellow at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (2017-2018), and expert testifying witness for the U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division (2014-2017). Her interdisciplinary research examines how exposure to chronic social stressors including adverse childhood experiences, poverty, and crime affect mental health, immune functioning, and disease risk among communities of color. She regularly teaches graduate level courses in research methods, statistics, and theory, an undergraduate course on inequality and public policy, and leads a research intensive 3-week study abroad to Ghana. She was elected to the Senate (2014-2016; 2017-2019) and has served or is currently serving on several college, departmental and campus committees including ACES Executive Committee (2018), ACES Elections Committee (2014-), ACES Graduate Education Policy Committee (2011-2012), ACES Research Academy Steering Committee (2008-2010), Departmental Faculty Advisory Committee (2005-2006; 2009-2010; 2010-2011; 2015-2017), Graduate College Review Committee for the Assessment of Illinois Doctoral Experience (2013-2014), Chancellor Committee on Social Equality and Cultural Understanding (2012-2013). She is interested in serving on the UIUC Senate Committee on Committees in order to ensure broad representation across the Faculty Senate.

LILYA KAGANOVSKY (Professor: LAS, Slavic Languages & Literature)

Lilya Kaganovsky is Professor of Slavic, Comparative Literature, and Media & Cinema Studies. She holds affiliate appointments in the Department of Gender & Women's Studies, the College of Media, the Unit for Criticism & Interpretive Theory, and the Program in Jewish Culture and Society. Her specializations are in twentieth-century Russian/Soviet literature and film, comparative literature, gender studies, and film and media history and theory. She is the author of two books, three edited volumes, and over twenty articles on Soviet culture. Her research has been supported by the fellowship from the Center for Advanced Study (2007-2008), the ACLS / SSRC /NEH International and Area Studies Fellowship (2011-2012), and the Senior Research Fellowship from the Unit for Criticism & Theory (2012-2014). In 2013, she was named The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences' Centennial Scholar, and in 2017, received the Campus Distinguished Promotion Award. She is currently in her last year as Director of the Program in Comparative & World Literature, and serves on the Graduate College Executive Committee, the Media & Cinema Studies Executive Committee, and on the faculty Senate.