### **Minutes**

# **Urbana-Champaign Senate Meeting**

December 6, 2010

A regular meeting of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate was called to order at 3:15 p.m. on the 3<sup>rd</sup> floor of the Levis Faculty Center with Interim Chancellor Robert Easter presiding and Professor Emeritus Kenneth E. Andersen as Parliamentarian.

# **Approval of Minutes**

12/06/10-01 The approval of meeting minutes for November 1 and 8 was deferred.

# **Senate Executive Committee Report**

Senator Joyce Tolliver (LAS), Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC), moved to add CC.11.05, Nominations for Membership on the Chancellor Search Committee, to today's agenda under New Business (there was no objection). Chair Tolliver reported that Professor Doug Beck will chair the Chancellor Search Committee and early indications from President Hogan are that there will be no change to the Chancellor's duties.

Tellers for today's meeting are Harry Hilton (ENGR), Michael Biehl (VMED), and David Pileski (DGS).

### **Chancellor's Remarks**

Chancellor Robert Easter reported on Stewarding Excellence @ Illinois (SEI) projects, budgetary and procurement updates, and campus safety.

## **Questions/Discussion**

There were no questions.

#### **Old Business**

12/06/10-02 Presented for second reading and action was SP.10.11\*, Revisions to the *Statutes*, Article X, Section 2 – Academic Freedom. Senator William Maher (LIBR), Chair of the Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (USSP), introduced the principal architect of the proposal, Professor Matthew Finkin (LAW), Chair of the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure.

Professor Finkin recapitulated the history of U.S. Supreme Court and lower court rulings on the matter and spoke at length about First Amendment rights v. rights of public employees to speak about their employers. He then urged senators to adopt the measure.

12/06/10-03 SP.10.11 was approved by unanimous voice vote.

### **Consent Agenda**

40 /00 /40 00

Hearing no objection, Dr. Easter pronounced that the following proposals were approved by unanimous consent:

- 12/06/10-04 EP.10.46\*, Proposal from the College of Fine and Applied Arts to Revise the B.F.A. in New Media Degree in the School of Art and Design
- 12/06/10-05 EP.11.11\*, Proposal from the Graduate College and the College of LAS to Establish a Professional Science Master's Concentration in the M.S. in Plant Biology
- 12/06/10-06 EP.11.13\*, Proposal from the College of Fine and Applied Arts to Revise the Curriculum and Reduce the Required Minimum Hours for the Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (B.L.A.) Degree

# **Proposals for Action**

12/06/10-07 EP.11.15\*, Proposal from the Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs to Eliminate the B.S. in Aviation Human Factors, the Professional Pilot Curriculum, and the M.S. in Human Factors in the Institute of Aviation.

Senator Phil Geil (ENGR) moved, at the request of Tom Emanuel, Director of the Institute of Aviation, to postpone consideration of this item until the Institute was able to find a new campus home for its B.S. degree program.

After a brief discussion about the impact of admissions cycle issues on this matter, Senator Les Gasser (LISC) asked the Presiding Officer to determine if a quorum was present.

By a count of the tellers, it was determined that 73 senators were present, 27 short of the 100 needed for a quorum.

The action portion of the meeting was immediately declared adjourned, with a ruling from the parliamentarian that, in accord with *Robert's Rules*, informational items remaining on the agenda could be received and discussed by the Senate.

### **Reports for Information**

12/06/10-08	HE.11.03* November 12 FAC/IBHE
12/06/10-09	AD.11.02* One Year Intensive Admissions Policy Review

### **New Business**

12/06/10-10 Presented for information was CC.11.05\*, Nominations for Membership on Chancellor Search Committee. It was ruled that because there would be no voting on the slate today, floor nominations were in order. Additional faculty nominations came forward for Professors Harriet Muray and Robert Warrior

40 E 4 G /IDI IE

(both LAS); additional student nominations were made for Max Ellithorpe (LAS), Brock Gebhardt (DGS), David Olsen (BUS), Mark Rosenstein (FAA), and Jake Vermillion (FAA).

The meeting was formally adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Robert C. Damrau, Senate Clerk \*Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these Minutes.