### UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.18.06 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.14 – Committee on Information Technology

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Senate Committee on Information Technology (IT) discusses a variety of issues concerning information technology at the University including those around research computing, administrative computing, and instructional computing. There has been discussion by IT that it would be beneficial to have a representative from the Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning (CITL) at the committee meetings for input, guidance, or comment. Of note, the executive officers of both Technology Services and Administrative Information Technology Services (AITS) already have *ex officio* roles on the committee. With CITL's central campus service role in online education as well as technology-enhanced instruction, there is a parallel to be drawn that would indicate their inclusion as well. For these reasons, IT believes it would be appropriate for the CITL Director to join the committee in a non-voting *ex officio* capacity.

#### RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part D.14. Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is <del>struck through</del>.

## PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.14

# 14. Committee on Information Technology

3 4 5

1

2

b. Membership

Part D – Standing Committees

The Committee shall consist of:

6 7 8

1. Eight faculty members, with no more than two coming from any single college,

9 10

2. One academic professional member,

11 12

3. Two student members,

13 14

4. The Campus Chief Information Officer (CIO) or the CIO's designee (ex officio), and

15 16

5. The University Associate Vice President for Administrative Information Technology Services or designee (*ex officio*), and

17 18 19

6. The director of the Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning (CITL) or the director's designee (*ex officio*).

20 21 University Statutes and Senate Procedures
Shawn Gilmore, Chair
Balaji Baskaran
Nikita Borisov
H. George Friedman
Wendy Harris
William Maher
William Stevan
Jessica Mette, Ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, Ex officio
Sarah Zehr, Observer