APPROVED BY SENATE 05/01/2017

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.17.08 Revisions to the *Standing Rules* – Voting by electronic clickers

BACKGROUND

Over the past few years, the Senate has experimented with taking votes by electronic means, currently using i-Clickers. Many senators were already familiar with these devices, and after a short period of experimentation, their use in the Senate has become easy and routine. The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) and the Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (USSP) have observed that the results of votes taken in this manner are available quickly, efficiently, and precisely. It seems to be time to make their use the ordinary way of taking and recording non-routine votes in the Senate.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends that the Senate approve the following amendments to the *Standing Rules*. As this is to be a new Rule, the text is not underscored.

Standing Rules

NEW RULE

1 2 3

4 5

6 7

8 9 10

11

12

13

14 15 16

17 18

19

15. Use of electronic clickers in the Senate

A. Except in instances where there are technical barriers, non-procedural votes shall be taken by electronic clickers.

B. In the absence of opposition to a routine procedural motion, votes may be recorded by unanimous consent. However, if consent is not unanimous, the motion must be voted on by electronic clickers. Examples of routine procedural motions include the granting of floor privileges, approval of the minutes of meetings, closing of nominations, and elections in which there are no more candidates than positions to be filled.

C. If the presiding officer of the Senate meeting senses a lack of opposition to a motion, the presiding officer may propose the motion for unanimous consent. However, if consent is not unanimous, the motion must be voted on by electronic clickers.

UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE

PROCEDURES

William Maher, Chair Nikita Borisov Tara Chattoraj H. George Friedman Shawn Gilmore Wendy Harris Gisela Sin Jessica Mette, *Ex officio (designee)* Jenny Roether, *Ex officio* Sarah Zehr, *Observer*