UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.17.05 Revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part F.4 – Research Policy Committee

BACKGROUND

The Senate *Bylaws* outline the scope of responsibility, duties, and membership for Committees that are formal creatures of the Senate. The *Bylaws* also contain provisions for how the Senate participates in naming or providing nominations for other entities to committees and advisory bodies which themselves are not formally part of the Senate. One such body, the Research Policy Committee, listed in *Bylaws*, Part F.4 exists to provide advice to the Chancellor and the Vice Chancellor for Research on research policy. Presently, the Committee on Committees presents a slate of nominees to the Senate which in turn choses those faculty and student names to forward to the Vice Chancellor for Research who makes the final appointments.

Because the existing process for the Committee on Committees and Senate actions on nominations is complex, the Vice-Chancellor for Research and the Research Policy Committee has requested a streamlining of the process used to establish the committee roster.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part F.4. Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is struck through.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART F.4

ORIGINAL

Research Policy Committee. This fifteen member committee advises the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR), and the Senate on matters of research policy. The VCR appoints all members of the committee. The Committee is composed of a faculty chair selected in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee; one representative from the Campus Research Board; the Dean of the Graduate College; ten faculty members, five of whom are appointed each year for two-year terms; one graduate student with a two-year term; and one undergraduate student with a one-year term. Four of the five faculty members and the two students are appointed from nominees provided by the Senate as follows: The Senate Committee on Committees submits eight nominations for the four faculty slots and two nominations for each student slot to the full Senate for approval and subsequent transmittal of the nominees to the VCR. The fifth faculty member is appointed at the discretion of the VCR. The Chair of the Research Policy Committee will report to the Senate Executive Committee on the activities of this committee three times a year and will report to the full Senate annually.

PROPOSED REVISION

| 1 | |
|---|--|
| 2 | |

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

Research Policy Committee. This committee advises the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR), and the Senate on matters of research policy. The Committee should have no fewer than ten members and no more than fifteen members, and the VCR appoints all members of the committee, typically for two year terms. The Committee has a faculty chair selected in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee. At least eight members of the Committee shall be faculty chosen from nominations provided by the Senate Committee on Committees, submitted to the full Senate for approval and subsequent transmittal of the nominees to the VCR. The other members shall be appointed by the VCR and may include students and academic professionals. The Chair of the Research Policy Committee will provide a written report to the Senate on the activities of this committee at least annually and will provide additional reports to the Senate and the Senate Executive Committee as requested.

12 13 14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

2425

26

27

28

29

30 31

32

REDLINE-STRIKEOUT

Research Policy Committee. This fifteen member committee advises the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR), and the Senate on matters of research policy. The committee should have no fewer than ten members and no more than fifteen members, and the VCR appoints all members of the committee, typically for two year terms. The Committee is composed of has a faculty chair selected in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee. ; one representative from the Campus Research Board; the Dean of the Graduate College; ten faculty members, five of whom are appointed each year for two year terms; one graduate student with a two-year term; and one undergraduate student with a one-year term. Four of the five faculty members and the two students are appointed from nominees provided by the Senate as follows: At least eight members of the committee shall be faculty chosen from nominations provided by Tthe Senate Committee on Committees, submits eight nominations for the four faculty slots and two nominations for each student slot submitted to the full Senate for approval and subsequent transmittal of the nominees to the VCR. The fifth faculty member is appointed at the discretion of the VCR. The other members shall be appointed by the VCR and may include students and academic professionals. The Chair of the Research Policy Committee will provide a written report to the Senate Executive Committee on the activities of this committee three times a year at least annually and will report to the full Senate annually provide additional reports to the Senate and the Senate Executive Committee as requested.

UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES
William Maher, Chair
Tara Chattoraj
H. George Friedman
Shawn Gilmore
Wendy Harris
Gisela Sin
Jessica Mette, ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, ex officio
Sarah Zehr, Observer