UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.15.16 Proposed Revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part D.1 – Senate Executive Committee, Membership

BACKGROUND

The Chair of the committee which performs the statutory function of the Professional Advisory Committee represents Other Academic Staff on the Senate Executive Committee. On November 9, 2009, the Senate voted to give Other Academic Staff voting representation in the Senate. Since Other Academic Staff have voting representation in the Senate, the Chair of the Professional Advisory Committee representing Other Academic Staff on the Senate Executive Committee should be given voting privileges on that committee. The phrase "as well as Senate floor privileges" is redundant since all members of Senate committees have Senate floor privileges.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*, Part D.1. Text to be deleted is indicated by strikeout (e.g., sample text for deletion).

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.1 (b)

- 1 1. Senate Executive Committee
- 2 (b) Membership
- The Senate Executive Committee shall be composed of 16 members consisting of
- 4 (a) a Chair and a Vice-Chair, elected by ballot by and from among the membership of the Senate, who shall be the presiding officers of the Senate Executive Committee,
- 6 (b) the Chair of the Committee on Committees.
- 7 (c) the Chair of the Educational Policy Committee,
- 8 (d) the Chair of the General University Policy Committee,
- 9 (e) the Chair of the Information Technology Committee,
- 10 (f) the Chair of the University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee,

11 12 13	(g) three members elected by the Senate from a slate consisting of all remaining committee chairs willing to serve, with a runoff among the five candidates receiving the most votes and additional candidates if tied for fifth place,
14 15 16	(h) three students, including at least one undergraduate and at least one graduate or professional student, all of whom shall be elected by and from among the student senators,
17 18	(i) one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference, elected by the Senate to serve on the Executive Committee,
19 20	(j) the campus faculty member of the Faculty Advisory Council to the Board of Higher Education <i>ex officio</i> with vote, and
21 22 23	(k) the Chair of the committee which performs the statutory function of the Professional Advisory Committee or the Chair's designee <i>ex officio</i> with voice but no vote, as well as Senate floor privileges.
24	In the event of a vacancy in the Chair position, the Vice-Chair will immediately
25	succeed to the position of Chair. In the event of a vacancy in the Vice-Chair position,
26	an election by the Senate of a Vice-Chair will be conducted at the next meeting of the
27	Senate in accordance with the provisions of Part A, Section 5 (d). From the time the
28	Vice-Chair position becomes vacant and until a Vice-Chair has been elected and
29	certified, that sitting member of the Executive Committee with longest university
30	service will serve as interim Vice-Chair. Any other vacancy on the Senate Executive
31	Committee shall be filled by the same procedure utilized in selecting the vacating
32	member

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
William Maher, Chair
H. George Friedman
Shawn Gordon
Wendy Harris
Calvin Lear
Anna-Maria Marshall
Mark Roszkowski
Gisela Sin
Sandy Jones, Ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, Ex officio
Dedra Williams, Observer