## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.15.05 Proposed Revision to *Standing Rule 11.B* – Election of a Senate Executive Committee Member from the Committee on the University Senates Conference

#### BACKGROUND

The revision proposed below is intended to allow electronic or paper ballots for the election of a Senate Executive Committee Member from the Committee on the University Senates Conference.

#### RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the following revision to *Standing Rule 11.B.* Text to be added is <u>underscored</u> and text to be deleted is indicated by strikeout (e.g., sample text for deletion).

### PROPOSED REVISION TO STANDING RULE 11.B

# Election of a Senate Executive Committee Member from the Committee on the University Senates Conference

- 1 At its organizational meeting, each new Senate shall elect one member of the Committee on the
- 2 University Senates Conference to serve on the Senate Executive Committee, as provided in
- 3 Bylaws D 1 (b) and D 20 (a). In the event of a vacancy in this office, the Senate shall elect a
- 4 replacement. Unless the Senate on a particular occasion shall determine otherwise, the following
- 5 procedure shall be used:
- A. The nominees shall be those members of the Committee who consent to serve if
   elected.
- B. The election shall be conducted by paper ballot.
- C. A majority of the votes cast shall be required to elect on the first ballot.
- D. If no one is elected on the first ballot, a run-off election shall be held between the two candidates who received the highest numbers of votes on the first ballot. In the event of a

- tie for the highest or second highest number of votes, the run-off ballot shall include all
- of those who are tied.

14

• E. A plurality of the votes cast shall be required to elect on the second ballot.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
William Maher, Chair
H. George Friedman
Wendy Harris
Scott Jacobs
Calvin Lear
Anna-Maria Marshall
Mark Roszkowski
Cheyenne Wu
Sandy Jones, ex officio (designee)
Jenny Roether, ex officio
Dedra Williams, Observer