UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.11.03 Revision to the *Bylaws*, Part B, Paragraph 6 – Committee on Committees Term of Office

BACKGROUND

The existing *Bylaws*, Part B(6), provide that the Senate Committee on Committees starts its term at the end of the Senate year rather than the beginning of the academic year. While this allows the Committee on Committees to meet over the summer when necessary, it means that new members of the Committee on Committees, who may also be new to the Senate, are expected to recommend Senate members and other faculty to positions on important campus-level committees, such as search committees. The Committee on Committees has asked that its members start their terms at the beginning of the academic year, as other Senate committee members do, so that issues that arise over the summer could be addressed by committee members who have served for at least a full academic year.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures and the Senate Committee on Committees recommend approval of the following revisions to the *Bylaws*. Text to be deleted is indicated in [square brackets] and text to be added is <u>underscored</u>.

PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE BYLAWS, PART B

1 6. Unless otherwise provided herein or by the Senate at the time of election,	, faculty
2 and academic professional members of standing committees shall be electronic electroni	cted for
3 terms of two years, about half being elected each year, and student an	nd other
4 members shall be elected for terms of one year. Terms of Executive Con-	mmittee
5 and <u>other</u> committee members[, except the Committee on Committees	s,] shall
6 begin on the first day of the academic year following election. [The terr	n of the
7 Committee on Committees shall begin immediately after completion of	the last
8 regularly scheduled Spring session of the old Senate.] The term of servi	ce for a
9 member of an ad hoc committee shall begin upon election and continue u	until the
10 individual is replaced or recalled or until the committee is discharged.	. Both
11 senators and non-senators may be reelected to membership.	

UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES William Maher, Chair H. George Friedman Karen Hogenboom Christopher Kunzweiler Melissa Madsen

Anna-Maria Marshall Alec Meyerholz Kristine Campbell, *Observer* Robert C. Damrau, *ex officio* Sandy Jones, *ex officio (designee*