## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

# University Statutes and Senate Procedures (Final; Action)

SP.02.09 Revision to the Bylaws Part D.19(b) - Committee on University Student Life

#### **BACKGROUND**

It is proposed that two *ex officio* members be added to the Committee on University Student Life (USL): a representative of the Committee of Assistant and Associate Deans (A&A Deans) and the Dean of Students.

The members of the A&A Deans are individuals from across the campus who work with undergraduate and graduate students and programs. An individual from this group serves as an *ex officio* member of each of three Senate Committees whose focus is on these items: Admissions, Conference on Conduct Governance, and Educational Policy. A similar liaison with USL would be of value to both groups.

The Dean of Students has been an observer on USL for a number of years. Thus, this proposal reflects what has been the practice for a number of years. The Dean of Students will be an *ex officio* members since the term "observer" is no longer used in the *Bylaws* to describe members of Senate Committees.

USL concurs with these recommendations.

#### RECOMMENDATION

The Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends approval of the revision to the *Bylaws*, Part D.19(b). Text to be deleted is indicated in [square brackets] and text to be added is <u>underscored</u>.

### PROPOSED REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART D.19(b)

- 1 19. Committee on University Student Life
- 2 (b) Membership

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

- 3 The Committee shall consist of:
  - Four faculty members,
  - 2. Five student members,
    - 3. The elected head of the student body, or the elected head of the undergraduate student body and the elected head of the graduate student body, or designated representative(s) (ex officio), [and]
    - 4. The Vice-Chancellor for Student Affairs [or the Vice-Chancellor's designee] (ex officio)[.],

12	
13	5. The Dean of Students (ex officio), and
14 15	6. A member of the Committee of Assistant and Associate Deans (ex officio), selected by that committee.
16	

11

UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES

Joseph Finnerty, Chair

Lanny Arvan

Sara Bokhari

Karen Chapman-Novakofski

Michael Cooper

David Sisson

Charles Tabb

Robert C. Damrau, Ex officio

Thomas M. Eakman, Observer

Vera V. Mainz, (PAC Liaison)

Kathleen Pecknold, Ex officio (designee)