# UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final; Action)

SC.17.04 Election of a University Senates Conference (USC) Member to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

#### **BACKGROUND**

The University Senates Conference (USC) is a University-wide body established by the University *Statutes* and composed of a total of twenty representatives from the several campus senates. The number of representatives from each senate is specified in the *Statutes*. The representatives are elected by their respective senates for three-year terms beginning on the first day of the academic year following their election, and must be faculty members or members-elect of their senates at the time of their election. As close to one-third as possible of the representatives from each senate are elected each year. Representatives from the Urbana-Champaign Senate may serve no more than two full terms consecutively.

In accordance with *Bylaws* D.1.b.i, one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference (USC) shall be elected by the Senate to serve on the Executive Committee.

#### **NOMINATIONS**

The following USC members are willing to serve as the USC representative to the SEC if elected. Biographical sketches are available on the following page. The nominee with the highest number of votes shall be elected to the SEC.

Harley Johnson ENGR
Prasanta Kalita ACES
Matthew Wheeler ACES

## **SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Gay Miller, Chair
Kim Graber, Vice Chair
Sara Benson
Nicholas Burbules
Bettina Francis
George Francis
David Hanley
Sam LeRoy
William Maher
Lisa Monda-Amaya
Kathryn Oberdeck
Rahul Raju
Jeff Stein
Mark Steinberg

## **FACULTY NOMINEE BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES**

## Harley T. Johnson (ENGR)

Harley T. Johnson is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He joined UIUC in 2001 as an assistant professor, and he leads an active research group in materials for electronics and solar energy. Prof. Johnson previously served as Associate Head and Director of Graduate Studies in his department. He is currently a member of the executive committee of the University Senates Conference, where he also chairs the Finance, Budget, and Benefits Committee. He is actively involved in campus-wide diversity and inclusion initiatives, as a member of the Chancellor's council on Enhancing Diversity Guiding Excellence (EDGE), the Gender Equity Council (GEC), and the Senate Committee on Equal Opportunity and Inclusion (EQ). His previous campus level service includes terms on the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees, the UI Athletic Board, and the Provost's Faculty Compensation Review Committee. He has received numerous recognitions for his research and teaching, including a 2014-2015 Fulbright Scholar Award, an NSF CAREER Award, election to Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and many times listed in the UI List of Excellent Teachers. Johnson received his Ph.D. degree from Brown University, where he also served as Co-President of the Graduate Student Council.

# Prasanta Kalita (ACES)

Dr. Prasanta K. Kalita is a Professor in the Agricultural & Biological Engineering Department and an Associate Dean for the College of ACES. He served several years on the UIUC Senate and as chair of the Committee on Committees for 4 years. He is currently serving on the University Senate Conference. He served on the Senate Educational Policy Committee, chaired the Campus Committee on Race and Ethnicity (CORE), and the University IT Governance Security and Privacy Subcommittee. He served on Coursera Course Review Committee, Governing Documents Review Committee, and Non-instructional Space Task Force Committee on the campus level. Prasanta was a co-chair on Teaching Advancement Board (TAB), chaired the College of ACES Administrators Evaluation Committee, chaired the College of Engineering Grievance Committee, served on ACES P&T Committee and chaired the Campus Study Abroad Advisory Committee. Additionally, he has served on both colleges of Engineering and ACES Executive Committees. Prasanta has a well-funded research program both nationally and internationally, has guided more than 45 Ph.D. and MS graduate students, advised more than 70 undergraduate research students, and published extensively in peer reviewed journals. He has won departmental, college, campus, regional, and two national awards, and has been recognized with Distinguished Teacher Scholar Award on Campus. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE). He has served as Associate Editor of the Transactions of the ASABE and Applied Engineering in Agriculture as well as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Spatial Hydrology.

#### Matthew B. Wheeler (ACES)

Dr. Wheeler is Professor of Animal Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has joint appointments in the Department of Bioengineering, the Micro-Nanotechnology Laboratory, the Beckman Institute and the Carl Woese Institute for Genomic Biology at the University of Illinois. Dr. Wheeler is also a Visiting Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison. He served as Chair of the Academic Progress and Eligibility Committee of the Athletic Board and Chair from 1999-2002. Dr. Wheeler is one of the Faculty Representatives to the Big Ten Conference and NCAA. He has served on UIUC Senate Committees on Admissions, Conference on Conduct Governance, General University Policy and currently Chairs the Honorary Degrees Committee. Dr. Wheeler was elected to University Senates Conference in 2008, serving as Chair in 2010-11. He served as the USC representative to the UIUC Senate Executive Committee and was elected SEC Vice-Chair in 2009-2011 and SEC Chair 2011-2013. His areas of professional interests are embryo/ developmental biology, genomics and regenerative biology research. Dr. Wheeler and has published more than 200 peer-reviewed articles, chapters and technical articles. His research has been funded by USDA, DOD, NSF, USAID, Gates Foundation and NIH.