# UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final; Action)

## SC.17.03 Election of Faculty Members to the Committee on Committees

In accordance with Senate *Bylaws* Part D.6.c.2: "If necessary, a preliminary ballot shall be held to reduce the number of faculty or student nominees, as the case may be, to twice the number of positions to be filled."

A preliminary election was conducted online from April 13-15, 2016 to fill the two faculty positions of the Senate Committee on Committees. Ballot totals were determined by Senate Clerk Jenny Roether. She reports the following preliminary results:

## Committee on Committees—Faculty (two-year term):

Larry DeBrock (BUS)	23
George Francis (LAS)	20
Isabel Molina (LAS)	20
Siobhan Somerville (LAS)	20
Lisa Monda-Amaya (EDUC)	
Rob Motl (AHS)	13
Christopher Span (EDUC)	13
Number of faculty senators who voted:	66

In accordance with Senate *Bylaws* Part D.6.c.3.d: The names on the final ballot from any college shall not exceed one if fewer than three committee positions are to be filled.

A run-off election will be held between the three LAS nominees: *Vote for 1.* 

A. George FrancisB. Isabel MolinaC. Siobhan SomervilleLAS

The final ballot will contain the names of the four faculty nominees with the highest votes: *Vote for up to 2.* 

- 1. Larry DeBrock (BUS)
- 2. LAS nominee run-off winner
- 3. Lisa Monda-Amaya (EDUC)
- 4. Rob Motl (AHS)

The two faculty nominees receiving the highest number of votes on the final ballot will be declared elected.

#### **FACULTY BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES**

#### LARRY DEBROCK (BUS)

Lawrence DeBrock, Professor of Finance and Dean Emeritus, College of Business, earned his Ph.D. in Economics from Cornell in 1980. He served as the ninth Dean of the College of Business from 2009-2015. Prior to that, he served as Acting Associate Dean of Faculty as well as Associate Dean for Graduate and Professional Programs. Professor DeBrock has long been associated with the Illinois MBA and has won many awards in graduate and professional teaching, including the Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching in 2001, the MBA Faculty of the Year Award in 2000. He received the Campus Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching (the Luckman Award) in 1992. His research interests lie in the area of applied microeconomics and focus on topics in industrial organization, regulatory issues, health economics, and labor economics. He is currently finishing his 37th year on the faculty at Illinois.

### **GEORGE FRANCIS (LAS)**

My interests are unconventional: publishing in pure and applied mathematics, but also collaborating with engineers, psychologists, and artists. I was Donna Cox's 1987 co-PI for the NCSA-Beckman Renaissance Experimental Laboratory. In 2013 I collaborated with NY artist Tony Robbin and 9 Illinois Geometry Lab undergraduates. Their graduate mentor, Eliana Duarte, presented our results at an architectural conference in Spain. I've taught in the Campus Honors Program since 1990, serving on its faculty advisory board. I was first elected to the Senate as an assistant professor, and served on diverse committees: Student Life, Campus Operations, IT (chair). On the USC, I sat across from 5 presidents in 6 years. On the Committee on Committees, I will support shared governance between administration, faculty, and students. My platform is: Personal qualifications outweigh prominence and factional allegiances. I will balance Senate committees between eager young faculty and seasoned, committed mentors from the entire campus.

#### **ISABEL MOLINA (LAS)**

Isabel Molina-Guzmán is an associate professor the Department of Media & Cinema Studies in College of Media and the Department of Latina/Latino Studies in College of Liberal Arts Sciences. She is a leading researcher on ethnicity, race, gender and the media in traditional and digital forms. Since her arrival at UIUC in 2002, she has served both colleges and the campus in a variety of positions: Chair of the Department of Latino Studies (2007-2008; 2009-2012); Member of the College of LAS STAR team (2009-2011); College of Media Executive Committee (2012-2013). Prof. Molina was also a member of Provost's Stewarding Excellence Committee review of small academic units on campus (2009-2010); Provost/Chancellor Advisory Committee (2012-2013); Provost Advisory Committee (2007-2008). In 2008 she became a CIC Academic Leadership Fellow. Finally, Prof. Molina participated in the College of LAS Dean's Search (2008) and Provost Search Committee in (2008-2009).

#### LISA MONDA-AMAYA (EDUC)

Lisa Monda-Amaya is a Professor in the Department of Special Education. She served as Director of Research Collaboration for the Center for Education in Small Urban Communities for 6 years. As a faculty member at the University of Illinois for the last 27 I have served on a number of campus and college committees including the Committee on Committees. For years she has coordinated teacher preparation programs, and has received nearly \$5 million in grant funding. At the state level Dr. Monda-Amaya has been heavily involved in personnel preparation and certification activities and has influenced policy decisions in the State of Illinois. She has served on the Executive Boards for national organizations and has received numerous teaching awards including the Award for Excellence in University Teaching for the State of Illinois (ITED), the Campus Award for Undergraduate Teaching, and the College of Education's Outstanding Undergraduate Professor and Career Teaching Awards.

## **ROB MOTL (AHS)**

Robert W. Motl is currently a Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Community Health and affiliate of the Neuroscience Program. Prof. Motl received an undergraduate degree from the San Diego State University, Master's from University of Wyoming, and doctorate from the University of Georgia. Prof. Motl has research interests in the area of physical activity behavior and its measurement, predictors, and consequences in persons with neurological conditions. Prof. Motl is a Fellow in the Society for Behavioral Medicine, and member of the Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers. Prof. Motl current serves as a member of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Working Group and chairs the Biomedical and Health Sciences Institutional Review Board. Prof. Motl further chaired study section for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society over the past 5 years.

### SIOBHAN SOMERVILLE (LAS)

Siobhan B. Somerville (Ph.D., English, Yale University) is an Associate Professor in the Departments of English and Gender and Women's Studies, as well as an affiliated faculty member in the Unit for Criticism and Interpretive Theory and the Department of African American Studies. She is author of Queering the Color Line: Race and the Invention of Homosexuality in American Culture (Duke UP). Her research and teaching interests include: interdisciplinary studies of race and sexuality; American literature; queer theory; African American literature; law and humanities; film; and feminist theory. Formerly an Associate Dean of the Graduate College and Interim Director of the Gender and Women's Studies Department, Somerville has served on several campus-wide committees, including the Chancellor and Provost Committee on LGBT Concerns; the Chancellor's Committee on Diversity; the Interdisciplinary Working Group in the Humanities; and the Equal Opportunity and Inclusion Committee of the Academic Senate.